Book Of Job — Chapters 1-7

Job_Facing_Tests_Of_Life

We can see in Job, that Satan had to ask the Lord’s permission to test Job before he could do anything.  He was never allowed to go beyond what God permitted.

 We can also see that during this testing, Job got into a “pity party” and questioned why he was ever born.  You can see where Job starts to think that God is against him.  We can also see that Job displays signs of hopelessness based on his responses.  Job also communicates anger towards God.

This is a reminder that we need to thank the Lord no matter what is going on in our lives, as his ways are beyond our understanding.  Don’t just thank him when everything is going very well.

After having a Bible Study on this with Mike & His wife,  it was realized that Eliphaz was totally wrong.   Eliphaz spoke of a “night vision”, but did not ask for confirmation if this was from God!   It’s where we need to look at 1 John 4 for guidance “Do Not Trust Every Spirit”.

Job 1 (HCSB)

Job and His Family
There was a man in the country of Uz named Job. He was a man of perfect integrity, who feared God and turned away from evil. 2 He had seven sons and three daughters. 3 His estate included 7,000 sheep, 3,000 camels, 500 yoke of oxen, 500 female donkeys, and a very large number of servants. Job was the greatest man among all the people of the east.

4 His sons used to take turns having banquets at their homes. They would send an invitation to their three sisters to eat and drink with them. 5 Whenever a round of banqueting was over, Job would send for his children and purify them, rising early in the morning to offer burnt offerings for all of them. For Job thought: Perhaps my children have sinned, having cursed God in their hearts. This was Job’s regular practice.

Satan’s First Test of Job
6 One day the sons of God came to present themselves before the Lord, and Satan also came with them. 7 The Lord asked Satan, “Where have you come from?”

“From roaming through the earth,” Satan answered Him, “and walking around on it.”

8 Then the Lord said to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job? No one else on earth is like him, a man of perfect integrity, who fears God and turns away from evil.”

9 Satan answered the Lord, “Does Job fear God for nothing? 10 Haven’t You placed a hedge around him, his household, and everything he owns? You have blessed the work of his hands, and his possessions have increased in the land. 11 But stretch out Your hand and strike everything he owns, and he will surely curse You to Your face.”

12 “Very well,” the Lord told Satan, “everything he owns is in your power. However, you must not lay a hand on Job himself.” So Satan left the Lord’s presence.

13 One day when Job’s sons and daughters were eating and drinking wine in their oldest brother’s house, 14 a messenger came to Job and reported: “While the oxen were plowing and the donkeys grazing nearby, 15 the Sabeans swooped down and took them away. They struck down the servants with the sword, and I alone have escaped to tell you!”

16 He was still speaking when another messenger came and reported: “A lightning storm struck from heaven. It burned up the sheep and the servants and devoured them, and I alone have escaped to tell you!”

17 That messenger was still speaking when yet another came and reported: “The Chaldeans formed three bands, made a raid on the camels, and took them away. They struck down the servants with the sword, and I alone have escaped to tell you!”

18 He was still speaking when another messenger came and reported: “Your sons and daughters were eating and drinking wine in their oldest brother’s house. 19 Suddenly a powerful wind swept in from the desert and struck the four corners of the house. It collapsed on the young people so that they died, and I alone have escaped to tell you!”

Job1_Rips_His_Shirt

20 Then Job stood up, tore his robe, and shaved his head. He fell to the ground and worshiped, 21 saying:

Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
and naked I will leave this life.
The Lord gives, and the Lord takes away.
Praise the name of Yahweh.
22 Throughout all this Job did not sin or blame God for anything.


Job 2 (HCSB)

Satan’s Second Test of Job
One day the sons of God came again to present themselves before the Lord, and Satan also came with them to present himself before the Lord. 2 The Lord asked Satan, “Where have you come from?”

“From roaming through the earth,” Satan answered Him, “and walking around on it.”

3 Then the Lord said to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job? No one else on earth is like him, a man of perfect integrity, who fears God and turns away from evil. He still retains his integrity, even though you incited Me against him, to destroy him without just cause.”

4 “Skin for skin!” Satan answered the Lord. “A man will give up everything he owns in exchange for his life. 5 But stretch out Your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely curse You to Your face.”

6 “Very well,” the Lord told Satan, “he is in your power; only spare his life.”

Job2_7

7 So Satan left the Lord’s presence and infected Job with terrible boils from the sole of his foot to the top of his head. 8 Then Job took a piece of broken pottery to scrape himself while he sat among the ashes.

9 His wife said to him, “Do you still retain your integrity? Curse God and die!”

10 “You speak as a foolish woman speaks,” he told her. “Should we accept only good from God and not adversity?” Throughout all this Job did not sin in what he said.

Job’s Three Friends
11 Now when Job’s three friends—Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite—heard about all this adversity that had happened to him, each of them came from his home. They met together to go and sympathize with him and comfort him. 12 When they looked from a distance, they could barely recognize him. They wept aloud, and each man tore his robe and threw dust into the air and on his head. 13 Then they sat on the ground with him seven days and nights, but no one spoke a word to him because they saw that his suffering was very intense.


Job 3 (HCSB)

Wish_I_Was_Never_Born

Job’s Opening Speech
After this, Job began to speak and cursed the day he was born. 2 He said:

3 May the day I was born perish,
and the night when they said,
“A boy is conceived.”
4 If only that day had turned to darkness!
May God above not care about it,
or light shine on it.
5 May darkness and gloom reclaim it,
and a cloud settle over it.
May an eclipse of the sun terrify it.
6 If only darkness had taken that night away!
May it not appear among the days of the year
or be listed in the calendar.
7 Yes, may that night be barren;
may no joyful shout be heard in it.
8 Let those who curse certain days
cast a spell on it,
those who are skilled in rousing Leviathan.
9 May its morning stars grow dark.
May it wait for daylight but have none;
may it not see the breaking of dawn.
10 For that night did not shut
the doors of my mother’s womb,
and hide sorrow from my eyes.
11 Why was I not stillborn;
why didn’t I die as I came from the womb?
12 Why did the knees receive me,
and why were there breasts for me to nurse?
13 Now I would certainly be lying down in peace;
I would be asleep.
Then I would be at rest
14 with the kings and counselors of the earth,
who rebuilt ruined cities for themselves,
15 or with princes who had gold,
who filled their houses with silver.
16 Or why was I not hidden like a miscarried child,
like infants who never see daylight?
17 There the wicked cease to make trouble,
and there the weary find rest.
18 The captives are completely at ease;
they do not hear the voice of their oppressor.
19 Both small and great are there,
and the slave is set free from his master.
20 Why is light given to one burdened with grief,
and life to those whose existence is bitter,
21 who wait for death, but it does not come,
and search for it more than for hidden treasure,
22 who are filled with much joy
and are glad when they reach the grave?
23 Why is life given to a man whose path is hidden,
whom God has hedged in?
24 I sigh when food is put before me,
and my groans pour out like water.
25 For the thing I feared has overtaken me,
and what I dreaded has happened to me.
26 I cannot relax or be still;
I have no rest, for trouble comes.


Job 4 (HCSB)

First Series of Speeches – Eliphaz Speaks
Then Eliphaz the Temanite replied:

2 Should anyone try to speak with you
when you are exhausted?
Yet who can keep from speaking?
3 Indeed, you have instructed many
and have strengthened weak hands.
4 Your words have steadied the one who was stumbling
and braced the knees that were buckling.
5 But now that this has happened to you,
you have become exhausted.
It strikes you, and you are dismayed.
6 Isn’t your piety your confidence,
and the integrity of your life your hope?
7 Consider: who has perished when he was innocent?
Where have the honest been destroyed?
8 In my experience, those who plow injustice
and those who sow trouble reap the same.
9 They perish at a single blast from God
and come to an end by the breath of His nostrils.
10 The lion may roar and the fierce lion growl,
but the fangs of young lions are broken.
11 The strong lion dies if it catches no prey,
and the cubs of the lioness are scattered.
12 A word was brought to me in secret;
my ears caught a whisper of it.

Wake_Up_From_Dream
13 Among unsettling thoughts from visions in the night,
when deep sleep descends on men,
14 fear and trembling came over me
and made all my bones shake.
15 A wind passed by me,
and I shuddered with fear.
16 A figure stood there,
but I could not recognize its appearance;
a form loomed before my eyes.
I heard a quiet voice:
17 “Can a person be more righteous than God,
or a man more pure than his Maker?”
18 If God puts no trust in His servants
and He charges His angels with foolishness,
19 how much more those who dwell in clay houses,
whose foundation is in the dust,
who are crushed like a moth!
20 They are smashed to pieces from dawn to dusk;
they perish forever while no one notices.
21 Are their tent cords not pulled up?
They die without wisdom.


Job 5 (HCSB)

Call out if you please. Will anyone answer you?
Which of the holy ones will you turn to?
2 For anger kills a fool,
and jealousy slays the gullible.
3 I have seen a fool taking root,
but I immediately pronounced a curse on his home.
4 His children are far from safety.
They are crushed at the city gate,
with no one to rescue them.
5 The hungry consume his harvest,
even taking it out of the thorns.
The thirsty pant for his children’s wealth.
6 For distress does not grow out of the soil,
and trouble does not sprout from the ground.
7 But mankind is born for trouble
as surely as sparks fly upward.
8 However, if I were you, I would appeal to God
and would present my case to Him.
9 He does great and unsearchable things,
wonders without number.
10 He gives rain to the earth
and sends water to the fields.
11 He sets the lowly on high,
and mourners are lifted to safety.
12 He frustrates the schemes of the crafty
so that they achieve no success.
13 He traps the wise in their craftiness
so that the plans of the deceptive
are quickly brought to an end.
14 They encounter darkness by day,
and they grope at noon
as if it were night.
15 He saves the needy from their sharp words
and from the clutches of the powerful.
16 So the poor have hope,
and injustice shuts its mouth.
17 See how happy the man is God corrects;
so do not reject the discipline of the Almighty.
18 For He crushes but also binds up;
He strikes, but His hands also heal.
19 He will rescue you from six calamities;
no harm will touch you in seven.
20 In famine He will redeem you from death,
and in battle, from the power of the sword.
21 You will be safe from slander
and not fear destruction when it comes.
22 You will laugh at destruction and hunger
and not fear the animals of the earth.
23 For you will have a covenant with the stones of the field,
and the wild animals will be at peace with you.
24 You will know that your tent is secure,
and nothing will be missing when you inspect your home.
25 You will also know that your offspring will be many
and your descendants like the grass of the earth.
26 You will approach the grave in full vigor,
as a stack of sheaves is gathered in its season.
27 We have investigated this, and it is true!
Hear it and understand it for yourself.


Job 6 (HCSB)

Job’s Reply to Eliphaz
Then Job answered:

2 If only my grief could be weighed
and my devastation placed with it in the scales.
3 For then it would outweigh the sand of the seas!
That is why my words are rash.
4 Surely the arrows of the Almighty have pierced me;
my spirit drinks their poison.
God’s terrors are arrayed against me.
5 Does a wild donkey bray over fresh grass
or an ox low over its fodder?
6 Is bland food eaten without salt?
Is there flavor in an egg white?
7 I refuse to touch them;
they are like contaminated food.
8 If only my request would be granted
and God would provide what I hope for:
9 that He would decide to crush me,
to unleash His power and cut me off!
10 It would still bring me comfort,
and I would leap for joy in unrelenting pain
that I have not denied the words of the Holy One.
11 What strength do I have that I should continue to hope?
What is my future, that I should be patient?
12 Is my strength that of stone,
or my flesh made of bronze?
13 Since I cannot help myself,
the hope for success has been banished from me.
14 A despairing man should receive loyalty from his friends,
even if he abandons the fear of the Almighty.
15 My brothers are as treacherous as a wadi,
as seasonal streams that overflow
16 and become darkened because of ice,
and the snow melts into them.
17 The wadis evaporate in warm weather;
they disappear from their channels in hot weather.
18 Caravans turn away from their routes,
go up into the desert, and perish.
19 The caravans of Tema look for these streams.
The traveling merchants of Sheba hope for them.
20 They are ashamed because they had been confident of finding water.
When they arrive there, they are frustrated.
21 So this is what you have now become to me.
When you see something dreadful, you are afraid.
22 Have I ever said: “Give me something”
or “Pay a bribe for me from your wealth”
23 or “Deliver me from the enemy’s power”
or “Redeem me from the grasp of the ruthless”?
24 Teach me, and I will be silent.
Help me understand what I did wrong.
25 How painful honest words can be!
But what does your rebuke prove?
26 Do you think that you can disprove my words
or that a despairing man’s words are mere wind?
27 No doubt you would cast lots for a fatherless child
and negotiate a price to sell your friend.
28 But now, please look at me;
would I lie to your face?
29 Reconsider; don’t be unjust.
Reconsider; my righteousness is still the issue.
30 Is there injustice on my tongue
or can my palate not taste disaster?


Job 7 (HCSB)

Isn’t mankind consigned to forced labor on earth?
Are not his days like those of a hired hand?
2 Like a slave he longs for shade;
like a hired man he waits for his pay.
3 So I have been made to inherit months of futility,
and troubled nights have been assigned to me.
4 When I lie down I think:
When will I get up?
But the evening drags on endlessly,
and I toss and turn until dawn.
5 My flesh is clothed with maggots and encrusted with dirt.
My skin forms scabs and then oozes.
6 My days pass more swiftly than a weaver’s shuttle;
they come to an end without hope.
7 Remember that my life is but a breath.
My eye will never again see anything good.
8 The eye of anyone who looks on me
will no longer see me.
Your eyes will look for me, but I will be gone.
9 As a cloud fades away and vanishes,
so the one who goes down to Sheol will never rise again.
10 He will never return to his house;
his hometown will no longer remember him.
11 Therefore I will not restrain my mouth.
I will speak in the anguish of my spirit;
I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.
12 Am I the sea or a sea monster,
that You keep me under guard?
13 When I say: My bed will comfort me,
and my couch will ease my complaint,
14 then You frighten me with dreams,
and terrify me with visions,
15 so that I prefer strangling—
death rather than life in this body.
16 I give up! I will not live forever.
Leave me alone, for my days are a breath.
17 What is man, that You think so highly of him
and pay so much attention to him?
18 You inspect him every morning,
and put him to the test every moment.
19 Will You ever look away from me,
or leave me alone long enough to swallow?
20 If I have sinned, what have I done to You,
Watcher of mankind?
Why have You made me Your target,
so that I have become a burden to You?
21 Why not forgive my sin
and pardon my transgression?
For soon I will lie down in the grave.
You will eagerly seek me, but I will be gone.


1 John 4:1-3

The Spirit of Truth and the Spirit of Error
Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to determine if they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.

2 This is how you know the Spirit of God: Every spirit who confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God. 3 But every spirit who does not confess Jesus is not from God. This is the spirit of the antichrist; you have heard that he is coming, and he is already in the world now.

 


Anne Murray Just A Closer Walk With Thee/”Take My Hand Lord Jesus”


 

 

39 thoughts on “Book Of Job — Chapters 1-7

    1. Oh my………..Put a coal to my lips Lord. Very good message James. I was listening to a preacher talk about grumbling while I was out working. This irritation, agitation mixed with grieving for what is coming,,,,,,,,,,I believe is tied in with the post of how Job handled all he went through and tied in with Glynda’s post.

      I had a word years ago regarding exactly what she said……….if not saved he would turn on me easily. Praying

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Post Edit Notes: Commentary placed on this post about how wrong Eliphaz was and he spoke “religiously”. Eliphaz also had a “night vision” which he did not seek confirmation as to the source.

    Remember — Satan can appear as an angel of light. He was created perfectly by God and it was his Pride that got him removed from what some call “The Third Heaven”. We also know that Satan and the fallen angels were all cast out of heaven as referenced in Genesis. Jesus himself said he saw Satan cast out of heaven.

    I also added a note about a review of 1 John 4 — Do not trust every spirit….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s very important that all of us ask the Lord for more discernment. We need to get confirmation on anything people are sharing, including the things I share as well.

      Just because someone has the gift of Prophecy, Teaching, etc… Doesn’t mean that everything they say is correct. Sometimes “mixture” can be there, and the person having this may not know it. Sometimes false teachings from years of being in a Church, can be hard to get rid of.

      Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal the truth in dreams/visions/prophecy/teaching/preaching being shared. Nothing should ever contradict the word of God (Holy Bible). If someone is sharing “words spoken to them from the Lord” — it must never ever contradict the word of God.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. The night vision of Eliphaz is a hidden gem and another way God is reinforcing the need to be cautious with supernatural manifestations. They can be from God or Satan, and like you said, we have to be careful to discern who is behind them.

        The magicians of Egypt used occult practices to imitate the first three miracles of Moses and Aaron – turning staffs to snakes, fresh water to blood, and a plague of frogs. Of course they weren’t able to copy what God did after that. Satan tries to imitate God, but can only go so far…

        Liked by 3 people

  2. More prayer requests — people have been reporting “cold/flu” type symptoms.

    Mike was having some.
    I had sinus/allergy type problems yesterday.
    This morning, my sister Linda let me know she’s having fever/chills/cough.

    Like

    1. Prayers for all. This weather change is causing issues here. From breaking heat records to 46 yesterday. Even a few snow flurries early morning……what a trip. I woke with a headache and stopped up two mornings in a row but thank you Jesus it didn’t go further. Praying for Linda’s fever to break, leave in Jesus name too.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Linda for your post!

      It greives me that the deception is increasing. One can see and hear it everywhere. When I see and hear it I’m stunned from whom it is coming from…but then I remind myself to get the log out of my eye and pray, pray, pray for us all.

      Also, the hate for the truth is increasing, one can almost feel or have a sense of those who will betray you, who will turn completely against you…hand you over to authorities. I believe this to be warnings from the Holy Spirit.

      Heavenly Father Thank You for Your love, thank You for sending Your Son, Jesus Christ our Lord of Lords, our King of Kings. Thank You Jesus for Your sacrifice, for taking on our sins, for loving us that much. We Praise You and Honor You and Love You endlessly for Your faithfulness and love. We come humbly before You and ask for Your gift of unwavering discerment, for Your full truth and only Your truth, that we may NOT be fooled. I ask You in the Name of Jesus to cover us from head to toe our minds, bodies and souls and cover us in Your full armour so we may be protected from the wiles of the enemy, his trickery, his deception and his uglyness. I ask that You be with us as we sometimes stand alone in the natural for Your Names sake. I ask that You keep us strong reminding us always that Your Spirit is in us and around us and that we are NEVER alone no matter how hard it may become here on earth. I ask that You whisper to us Your loving words to stand strong giving us the needed courage we need…knowing our reward is in Heaven.
      I ask these favors and blessings in Jesus Name Amen

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Amen.
        Yes, I see it here too and am noticing it from friends I’ve known many years, the deception of the world etc. It certainly has brought on a deep grieving that hasn’t let up yet. The deception is such that it brings to mind to take heed…never, ever did I think it would be this wide spread and/or cause some I’ve known many years to fall into areas of deception.

        I love the prayer, it does feel as though very alone often. And yes, Lord, oh how we need You!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Well Vicki being turned over to the authorities will play towards Christ also. Because he said we dont need to think what to say. When the moment comes he will give the right words!

        So bring it on me and Vicki and other christians will say the truth and nothing but the truth.

        I will do it in finnish or swedish Vicki in english. Thats the only difference. Yup its easy 😎

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Update on my property owner. He is recovering very well from his triple bypass heart surgery he had the end of May. Him and his wife were over here the other day, as they decided to paint the exterior of this house.

    Now the funny part — they chose to paint this place Avocado? WOW! It’s still in process, but will take a long time to get use to this 🙂 The best way to describe it, is by the picture below (it’s the flesh part of the Avocado and not the skin).

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Excellent blog on Job. Here is an quite lenghty article on the gap theory i found. Most informative indeed.
    http://ministerfortson.com/the-gap-theory-the-bible-and-the-age-of-the-universe/#comment-306

    Feel free to comment this because i sense this idea has merit even though its opposed in many circles of christendom. There are some controversies but none that strikes me heretical. But feel free to inform me if you find such things.

    I like to study 😎

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Stig-Ove,

      That’s a fascinating topic. G.H. Pember’s explanation of the gap theory in Earth’s Earliest Ages convinced me.

      “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep.” – Genesis 1:1-2

      Pember explains why the Hebrew words translated “without form” and “void” in verse 2 (tohu and bohu) are better translated “ruined” and “made desolate.” The word for “and” can also be translated “but”. Therefore:

      “But the earth was ruined and made desolate…”

      In Jeremiah and Isaiah, the words tohu and bohu together are associated with divine judgment falling upon the land. Their placement in Genesis implies the earth was destroyed by a judgment of the Lord, and the subsequent account was a RENEWAL of the earth, not its original making.

      But who rebelled against God to incur such a judgment? How about Satan and his angels? We know the serpent was on the scene as soon as God placed Adam and Eve on earth.

      So many mysteries about this planet and universe. We’ll have to wait for heaven for most of the answers!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes it is Mike and in addition to going through the gap theory mr Pember also foresaw the explosion of vegetarianism linked to occult practises like theosophy almost 100 years before they became big in our time.

        And as Mike said its true that the bible shows by conventional reading in our language just so much and to go further can produce dubious results.

        But Pembers book is an recommendation to read. The scholars of that time were just so much versed in cross disciplinary forms that IT would not be possible today because of the High degree of specialization only one form of Science and art or history form requires.

        I seen people online who put the gap theory in the trashbin as heresy without studying. Show,thyself to be a workman says the bible!

        Liked by 2 people

    2. Stig,
      Thanks for sharing that thought-provoking information. I watched a youtube presentation on this. There are more things that we truly don’t know. One thing is God’s timing. We don’t really know how much time there was between creation of everything — 1 day in God’s time is not the same as ours. There’s still much mystery to be uncovered.

      Someone suggested I get a Bible that places everything in time order, it’s supposed to help the flow of understanding. (Chronological Bible).

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Well, you have both brought up an area I have pretty much just assumed for many years. I have not studied it, but in the times of reading thru the bible over the years, I believe it was in 86 I thought there had been more than one judgement. A type of remaking the world again.
      Last night and the night before I had proverbs on the audio bible. It’s the first time I noticed “wisdom” was referred to as possibly a separate feminine and that’s as far as I got.

      That movie the shack was turned off thankfully by the time a woman named Wisdom came upon the scene. I’m thankful it was too “woo woo” as my husband puts it yet the enemy sure knew to put it in the movie!

      I wonder if we’ll ever know the depths of most events, prophecies etc before we go home. I feel there is so much more to be known in the “appointed time.”

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Still catching up on emails and comments — we had another power outage and later an internet/cable outage caused by trees hitting our lines. We had 60 mph winds yesterday, think is was the remains of that tropical storm.
    ******************************************************************************

    Thoughts for discussion:

    I often watch teachers/preachers on television and noticed many have excellent teachings, but then they go to selling books/cds/vidoes. I have nothing against people that produce these, but often thought it would be excellent if they offered these things for free online as a downloadable PDF/Podcast/Video (Bette Stevens does that) — it gives people with little finances, access to the knowledge obtained free from the Holy Spirit.

    I do realize that there is time and expense involved in creating these things, not to mention postage.

    To me, one should follow what the Holy Spirit is telling us to do in the form of giving. Giving can also be in our own time and expense in helping others? If we truly trust the Lord, I believe people will be prompted by the Holy Spirit to give to those people who are helping others.

    I’m not aware of any scripture that says it is o.k. to make money on what the Lord has told us to do. We should follow the Holy Spirit in all areas. I certainly am no expert on this topic.

    Any thoughts on this?

    This is the scripture that came to mind:
    2 Corinthians 2:17
    17 For we are not like the many who market God’s message for profit. On the contrary, we speak with sincerity in Christ, as from God and before God.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1 Corinthians 9:15-18
      15 But I have used none of these things: neither have I written these things, that it should be so done unto me: for it were better for me to die, than that any man should make my glorying void.
      16 For though I preach the gospel, I have nothing to glory of: for necessity is laid upon me; yea, woe is unto me, if I preach not the gospel!
      17 For if I do this thing willingly, I have a reward: but if against my will, a dispensation of the gospel is committed unto me.
      18 What is my reward then? Verily that, when I preach the gospel, I may make the gospel of Christ without charge, that I abuse not my power in the gospel.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. It breaks my heart when there’s a good book, CD, DVD (back in the day a tape) that you really want to have and there’s a charge for it. I do know it costs to produce,yet the way and price most is marketed for is off the charts.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. IMO, giving to a ministry of the gospel should be voluntary because the gospel is free. There shouldn’t be a charge to hear biblical teaching, though I think it’s fine to solicit voluntary donations. Like you said, there is a cost in producing books and CDs, though that material could be made available online for free.

      I think it’s notable that the only time Jesus became violently angry was when people were making money off worshipers in the temple complex:

      “The Jewish Passover was near, so Jesus went up to Jerusalem. In the temple complex He found people selling oxen, sheep, and doves, and He also found the money changers sitting there. After making a whip out of cords, He drove everyone out of the temple complex with their sheep and oxen. He also poured out the money changers’ coins and overturned the tables. He told those who were selling doves, “Get these things out of here! Stop turning My Father’s house into a marketplace!” And His disciples remembered that it is written: Zeal for Your house will consume Me.” – John 2:13-17

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Christ said freely you have received freely give. But also in the Ot Levites where free from earthly obligations to freely pursue the priestly office and in the NT the worker in the gospel was worth his due. But Even though St Paul pursued his work as a tentmaker on the side of preaching.

    But i would not wish to charge anything to present the gospel because IT can be done in the street for free!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Here’s part of scripture referenced by Stig. This is where Jesus was instructing his 12 disciples:

      Matthew 10:5-15

      5 Jesus sent out these 12 after giving them instructions: “Don’t take the road leading to other nations, and don’t enter any Samaritan town.
      6 Instead, go to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.
      7 As you go, announce this: ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’

      8 Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those with skin diseases, drive out demons. You have received free of charge; give free of charge.

      9 Don’t take along gold, silver, or copper for your money-belts.
      10 Don’t take a traveling bag for the road, or an extra shirt, sandals, or a walking stick, for the worker is worthy of his food.
      11 “When you enter any town or village, find out who is worthy, and stay there until you leave.
      12 Greet a household when you enter it,
      13 and if the household is worthy, let your peace be on it. But if it is unworthy, let your peace return to you.
      14 If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that house or town.
      15 I assure you: It will be more tolerable on the day of judgment for the land of Sodom and Gomorrah than for that town.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. In reference to the above topics of those turning against believers, it is a type of closing in on those who belong to the Lord. BUT, He is perfectly able to protect, move, keep, anything…..He is our All in All. I have been getting the words “closing in.”

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

