Our Citizenship Is In Heaven

The title of this post comes from a partial verse in Philippians 3:20.   Apostle Paul wrote this letter to the Philippians during his imprisonment by the Romans.   The estimated dates of 60-62 A.D.  I looked up the word “Dogs” in reference to scripture, and scholars claim that this was often used in reference to “Gentiles”.   They claim that Paul is using this word in reference to overly zealous Jewish teachers.

Philippians 3:1-21

rejoice_in_the_lord

Finally, my brothers, rejoice in the Lord. To write to you again about this is no trouble for me and is a protection for you.

Beware_Of_Evil_Workersannoying_little_dog

Watch out for “dogs,” watch out for evil workers, watch out for those who mutilate the flesh.  For we are the circumcision, the ones who serve by the Spirit of God, boast in Christ Jesus, and do not put confidence in the flesh— although I once also had confidence in the flesh. If anyone else thinks he has grounds for confidence in the flesh, I have more: circumcised the eighth day; of the nation of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, a Hebrew born of Hebrews; regarding the law, a Pharisee; regarding zeal, persecuting the church; regarding the righteousness that is in the law, blameless.

Philippians3_7

But everything that was a gain to me, I have considered to be a loss because of Christ.

Philippians3_8

More than that, I also consider everything to be a loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.

Philippians3_9

Because of Him I have suffered the loss of all things and consider them filth, so that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own from the law, but one that is through faith in Christ—the righteousness from God based on faith.

Philippians3_Press_On

 My goal is to know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death, assuming that I will somehow reach the resurrection from among the dead.

Not that I have already reached the goal or am already fully mature, but I make every effort to take hold of it because I also have been taken hold of by Christ Jesus.  Brothers, I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it.

Philippians3_13_14

But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead, I pursue as my goal the prize promised by God’s heavenly call in Christ Jesus.

Mature_In_Christ

 Therefore, all who are mature should think this way. And if you think differently about anything, God will reveal this also to you.  In any case, we should live up to whatever truth we have attained.  Join in imitating me, brothers, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us.  For I have often told you, and now say again with tears, that many live as enemies of the cross of Christ.  Their end is destruction; their god is their stomach; their glory is in their shame.

Philippians3_20

They are focused on earthly things, but our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.  He will transform the body of our humble condition into the likeness of His glorious body, by the power that enables Him to subject everything to Himself.


“Higher Ground (I’m Pressing on the Upward Way)” — The Smucker Family


“‘Til the Storm Passes By” – Blue Rock Mennonite Group


“It Is Well With My Soul” – Mennonite Hour Men’s Chorus


“Softly And Tenderly” – Altar Of Praise Chorale


Satan_Not_Welcome_Here

33 thoughts on “Our Citizenship Is In Heaven

  1. Just discovered 3 minor earthquakes hit near where I live. These are all from the New Madrid Missouri Fault. I never felt anything here.

    Highland is right next to Cherokee Village (my place of residence) and Ash Flat is where the WalMart is that I go to.

    Saturday, May 7, 2017
    A micro earthquake at 10:28 pm with a 2.0 event occurring 13 miles ESE of Highland, AR. The hypocentral depth was 8.5 miles.

    Saturday, May 7, 2017
    A micro earthquake at 10:21 pm with a 2.2 event occurring 13.6 miles ESE of Highland, AR. The hypocentral depth was 9.7 miles.

    Monday, May 1, 2017
    A micro earthquake at 5:58 am with a 2.1 event occurring 4.3 miles S of Ash Flat, AR. The hypocentral depth was 1.6 miles.

    Here’s a map showing where damage and shaking happened back in 1895, when the big quake last hit

    Here’s a little summary drawing of earthquake intensity that someone created:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is the 1895 quake the one that rerouted the Mississippi…does anyone know?

      We had our own (minor) earthquake in Pa recently. It was located near Millersville about 20 Miles from where we live…small but still it was felt. It brought many out of their homes thinking something exploded. I didn’t feel this one but through the years I have, it causes a reaction in your spirit…maybe the energy???

      Date & time: Sun, 23 Apr 20:49:08 UTC
      Magnitude: 2.3
      Depth: 5.0 km
      Epicenter latitude / longitude: 39.99°N / 76.32°W [Map]
      Nearest volcano: Raton-Clayton (2462 km)
      Primary data source: EMSC

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I never thought of an earthquake as something where someone would think something exploded. (never have been in one) BUT, what you shared just now confirmed something for me that happened a few years ago while caring for my grandmother in Dalhart TX.
        We were sitting in the living room visiting. All of a sudden there was a boom so loud it shook the whole house. My grandmother was hard of hearing. She jumped and exclaimed “what was that!!” She looked scared. My dog Roxi is afraid of the bathroom, yet she ran, hid in it and would not come out.
        First thought was someones water heater exploded or something along those lines and I ran to look out the front door and back too. Upon calling the police to ask them what was going on and had they heard any reports…………
        I got two officers acting sarcastic, saying I was the only one reporting it and instantly I got a check in my spirit. When asking the Lord about this it was part of the underground tunnel systems etc. Still not sure of the boom, yet later that year, Caterpiller company had a massive project going on and I learned of old tunnels that used to run under the town. There were no reports of an earthquake yet Dalhart has had some over the years.
        The officers gave me the creeps and knew what was going on. Odd for small town officers, who are normally very friendly.
        We live close to DIA so you can imagine the digging into this I’ve done. Even my husband has heard things coming from underground. He doesn’t believe in all the agenda stuff going on YET. IN saying all this, what are your thoughts on many of these “earthquakes” being connected with the tunnels? How does it keep from collapsing them and so on. I do not get that part, yet have no doubt they are not only there, they are numerous and planned only for evil………..

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Cherokee…Cherokee….Cherokee thats almost a song already 😁 Add to it wandering the plains hunting sin, bow ready to impale the fruits of sin to bring ourselves to win this raging battle against sin……Win…win…and on IT goes. JC do the guitar riff, sonshine drums, Vicki singing, Mike bass guitar 😎

        Liked by 3 people

  2. Thanks for sharing those links James. One has to wonder…if the most powerful earthquake ever recorded happened here in the east, why is it that all the talk is about earthquakes in the west?

    I read a book back in the late 70’s, early 80’s about a minister who had a dream. In his dream it was the east coast who had (another) devastating earthquake. So bad it dominated the news for weeks. It was in that book that I first learned about the 1811 & 1812 quakes and how bad they were. Anyone know who wrote that book?

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I just read some of that link and comments and saw the following link. I’ve never listened to this show but what is pointed out is interesting.

        Liked by 2 people

    1. That makes me wonder also Vicki. As I said above, never been in an earthquake but have had dreams, visions and nightmares of them as young as 2. The dreams/nightmares went on into adulthood……As a child I never would have thought they had any significance so they came across as nightmares. Upon getting older into adulthood I didn’t think much about them until being born again. Every one of the dreams was in the West………would love to get ahold of that book!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. With the small quakes I’ve experienced there have been several feelings. In one there was shaking….that one was what I would call big for our area. 3. or 4. something…I don’t remember. The House shook, and ceiling lights rattled. It was somewhere in Lancaster, Pa an hour from my location. Another was a forceful jolt…felt like the house moved. That one was north of where I was living, in a small town, Dillsburg, Pa. about 10 minutes from me. That one was a high two point something. The most recent was a jolt also but not real forceful. I’ve never heard a boom but those close to the epicenter sometimes report booms/explosions like the most recent one in Millersville, Pa.

        As far as tunnels, we have quarries everywhere around us and yes sometimes we feel that but it’s different. We also have sinkhole appear in this area. We believe the sinkhole are a result of the quarries, although, they would never admit they are.

        I would also like to find the book

        Liked by 1 person

      2. International Earthquake and Volcano Prediction Center
        P.O. Box 607147 * Orlando, FL 32860

        Imminent Earthquake Threat to US Nuclear Facilities

        May 12, 2017 Press Release 01-2017
        9:30 AM

        The International Earthquake and Volcano Prediction Center (IEVPC) announces today that it has notified the Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry, of an imminent threat to US nuclear facilities from a wave of catastrophic earthquakes that is about to start.

        http://www.ievpc.org/id67.html

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bible says the whole earth shall be shaken at some point. Place and verse escapes me though now. But IT is important so many are reporting this because bible says the Lord will do nothing unless informing his servants the prophets first!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. If government officials warn like that its easy to deduce what areas are at risk. Take nuclear power plants see vicinity to risk areas around faultline or other high risk areas like mines or other high risk areas.

    But in a nutshell good catch sonshine. In Finland they reevaluated the place of the new nuclear powerplant when we had a 1. Something earthquake about 2 years ago

    Liked by 2 people

      1. i lived in Tulsa, Oklahoma for years and years and never experienced even tremors until around 2010 and i hear they have had tons since esp the last year or two. That Madrid Fault line will eventually go and most of Oklahoma will most likely go with it. i believe it will even take out a lot of Dallas. I was glad when Abba moved me out of there. But I still think that the California earthquake will most likely happen first.

        i believe it was over 5,000 tremors in tulsa county in the year 2016. Not trying to scare anyone but those houses in Arkansas, Oklahoma etc are not made that well and one tiny tremor left a running crack on the ceiling of the garage all the way from door to garage door and had to be fixed. But I do know Oklahoma has one of the best warning systems. Not sure about Arkansas though.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope everyone’s okay…I felt it in my spirit all last week and this weekend (a bit better today) all around a feeling of heaviness, unrest, but mostly a feeling of evil. It seems to permeate the very air we’re breathing. Not on us but around us lurking, it’s on others…I could feel it and see it…It feels thick. Anyone else???
    Praying and keeping ourselves covered in the blood of Jesus. Protecting ourselves with the armour of God.

    Like

  6. No matter where the Lord prompts us to move, destruction will come. There will be safe places with the Lord’s protection. Those places will be used for refuge to help others that are still seeking hope in the Lord. In the natural mind, it didn’t make sense that I moved closer to the New Madrid Fault — but when we do something out of obedience, the Lord will be our help in the time of trouble.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

