Leaning On The Everlasting Arms

The title of this post is from an Old Hymn.

leaning-on-the-everlasting-arms


Psalm5_11

Psalm 5 “The Refuge of the Righteous”

1 Listen to my words, Lord;
consider my sighing.
2 Pay attention to the sound of my cry,
my King and my God,
for I pray to You.
3 At daybreak, Lord, You hear my voice;
at daybreak I plead my case to You and watch expectantly.
4 For You are not a God who delights in wickedness;
evil cannot dwell with You.
5 The boastful cannot stand in Your presence;
You hate all evildoers.
6 You destroy those who tell lies;
the Lord abhors a man of bloodshed and treachery.
7 But I enter Your house
by the abundance of Your faithful love;
I bow down toward Your holy temple
in reverential awe of You.
8 Lord, lead me in Your righteousness
because of my adversaries;
make Your way straight before me.
9 For there is nothing reliable in what they say;
destruction is within them;
their throat is an open grave;
they flatter with their tongues.
10 Punish them, God;
let them fall by their own schemes.
Drive them out because of their many crimes,
for they rebel against You.
11 But let all who take refuge in You rejoice;
let them shout for joy forever.
May You shelter them,
and may those who love Your name boast about You.
12 For You, Lord, bless the righteous one;
You surround him with favor like a shield.


Psalm27

Psalm 27 “My Stronghold”

1 The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom should I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom should I be afraid?
2 When evildoers came against me to devour my flesh,
my foes and my enemies stumbled and fell.
3 Though an army deploys against me,
my heart is not afraid;
though a war breaks out against me,
still I am confident.
4 I have asked one thing from the Lord;
it is what I desire:
to dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
gazing on the beauty of the Lord
and seeking Him in His temple.
5 For He will conceal me in His shelter
in the day of adversity;
He will hide me under the cover of His tent;
He will set me high on a rock.
6 Then my head will be high
above my enemies around me;
I will offer sacrifices in His tent with shouts of joy.
I will sing and make music to the Lord.
7 Lord, hear my voice when I call;
be gracious to me and answer me.
8 My heart says this about You,
“You are to seek My face.”
Lord, I will seek Your face.
9 Do not hide Your face from me;
do not turn Your servant away in anger.
You have been my helper;
do not leave me or abandon me,
God of my salvation.
10 Even if my father and mother abandon me,
the Lord cares for me.
11 Because of my adversaries,
show me Your way, Lord,
and lead me on a level path.
12 Do not give me over to the will of my foes,
for false witnesses rise up against me,
breathing violence.
13 I am certain that I will see the Lord’s goodness
in the land of the living.
14 Wait for the Lord;
be strong and courageous.
Wait for the Lord.


Psalm31

Psalm 31 “A Plea for Protection”

1 Lord, I seek refuge in You;
let me never be disgraced.
Save me by Your righteousness.
2 Listen closely to me; rescue me quickly.
Be a rock of refuge for me,
a mountain fortress to save me.
3 For You are my rock and my fortress;
You lead and guide me
because of Your name.
4 You will free me from the net
that is secretly set for me,
for You are my refuge.
5 Into Your hand I entrust my spirit;
You redeem me, Lord, God of truth.
6 I hate those who are devoted to worthless idols,
but I trust in the Lord.
7 I will rejoice and be glad in Your faithful love
because You have seen my affliction.
You have known the troubles of my life
8 and have not handed me over to the enemy.
You have set my feet in a spacious place.
9 Be gracious to me, Lord,
because I am in distress;
my eyes are worn out from angry sorrow—
my whole being as well.
10 Indeed, my life is consumed with grief
and my years with groaning;
my strength has failed
because of my sinfulness,
and my bones waste away.
11 I am ridiculed by all my adversaries
and even by my neighbors.
I am dreaded by my acquaintances;
those who see me in the street run from me.
12 I am forgotten: gone from memory
like a dead person—like broken pottery.
13 I have heard the gossip of many;
terror is on every side.
When they conspired against me,
they plotted to take my life.
14 But I trust in You, Lord;
I say, “You are my God.”
15 The course of my life is in Your power;
deliver me from the power of my enemies
and from my persecutors.
16 Show Your favor to Your servant;
save me by Your faithful love.
17 Lord, do not let me be disgraced when I call on You.
Let the wicked be disgraced;
let them be silent in Sheol.
18 Let lying lips be quieted;
they speak arrogantly against the righteous
with pride and contempt.
19 How great is Your goodness
that You have stored up for those who fear You
and accomplished in the sight of everyone
for those who take refuge in You.
20 You hide them in the protection of Your presence;
You conceal them in a shelter
from the schemes of men,
from quarrelsome tongues.
21 May the Lord be praised,
for He has wonderfully shown His faithful love to me
in a city under siege.
22 In my alarm I had said,
“I am cut off from Your sight.”
But You heard the sound of my pleading
when I cried to You for help.
23 Love the Lord, all His faithful ones.
The Lord protects the loyal,
but fully repays the arrogant.
24 Be strong and courageous,
all you who put your hope in the Lord.


the_lord_is_my_refuge

Psalm 61 “Security in God”

1 God, hear my cry;
pay attention to my prayer.
2 I call to You from the ends of the earth
when my heart is without strength.
Lead me to a rock that is high above me,
3 for You have been a refuge for me,
a strong tower in the face of the enemy.
4 I will live in Your tent forever
and take refuge under the shelter of Your wings.Selah
5 God, You have heard my vows;
You have given a heritage
to those who fear Your name.
6 Add days to the king’s life;
may his years span many generations.
7 May he sit enthroned before God forever;
appoint faithful love and truth to guard him.
8 Then I will continually sing of Your name,
fulfilling my vows day by day.


psalm91

Psalm 91 “The Protection of the Most High”

1 The one who lives under the protection of the Most High
dwells in the shadow of the Almighty.
2 I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”
3 He Himself will deliver you from the hunter’s net,
from the destructive plague.
4 He will cover you with His feathers;
you will take refuge under His wings.
His faithfulness will be a protective shield.
5 You will not fear the terror of the night,
the arrow that flies by day,
6 the plague that stalks in darkness,
or the pestilence that ravages at noon.

Psalm91_7
7 Though a thousand fall at your side
and ten thousand at your right hand,
the pestilence will not reach you.
8 You will only see it with your eyes
and witness the punishment of the wicked.
9 Because you have made the Lord—my refuge,
the Most High—your dwelling place,
10 no harm will come to you;
no plague will come near your tent.
11 For He will give His angels orders concerning you,
to protect you in all your ways.
12 They will support you with their hands
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the young lion and the serpent.
14 Because he is lovingly devoted to Me,
I will deliver him;
I will protect him because he knows My name.
15 When he calls out to Me, I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble.
I will rescue him and give him honor.
16 I will satisfy him with a long life
and show him My salvation.


Psalm 119:114 You are my shelter and my shield; I put my hope in Your word.

Psalm 121:5 The Lord protects you; the Lord is a shelter right by your side.

Psalm 142:5 I cry to You, Lord; I say, “You are my shelter, my portion in the land of the living.”


Satan_Not_Welcome_Here

16 thoughts on “Leaning On The Everlasting Arms

  1. Amen and these are good ones to say each day over ourselves because the enemy does surround us each day now and it is about to get much worse.
    God Bless You

    Liked by 3 people

  2. In Finland we have a strong culture of sustaining oneself by his/her own strength.
    For one of my finnish pedigree the day when strength fails will be hard. But the day will come and i will take solace in those promises in the bible.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for the post James! Always excellent timing. I read them last night and keeping them forefront.
    I have a terrible time keeping thyoid level and meds adjusted. Have gone over all supplements etc (have done supplements since 2001) with my husband to see what is causing some odd “not me” type of issues. From agitation and wired to just foggy, not good. Normally in a matter of a day or so it’s the thyroid meds causing issues or a supplement the manufactures switched. Not this time and it’s gone on for weeks on end.

    God is so good!!! A few nights ago I was asking the Lord why I was sounding like someone I love used to sound when my mouth opened……oh boy….I’ve been so grieved over this there are no words…….. posts not coming out right and so much more. We cant very well shine with Jesus when we are agitated! Well, it wasn’t the thyroid or supplements. We nailed it. God used my husband and our “Check in” discussion to show what the culprit was. Steroid inhalers!

    I’ve never used them on a continual basis until the last mycoplasma/flu episode and this time have had to continue using them. This is a very different breathing issue due to a combination of the myco and the smokes. What a battle this has been due to battling the emotions, and leading up to the continued use of inhalers. The steroid in the inhalers wind me up so much instead of lessening and quitting smoking, it’s increased. Then I go to “foggy” when it wears off, put the smokes down and of course, when I need to use the inhaler again, smokes way back up! Isn’t this just like the enemy to cause blindness to an area, attempt to beat up over it and take so long to discover the issue. I’m stopping the inhaler as of last night, praying the smokes stop also as it leaves my system and no breathing issues to need to use them. I already know how bad they are for us and had no other recourse when I couldn’t breathe.
    God is using your post to move me over from fear to faith in Him!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Perfect Love casts away all fear says scripture. Perfect Love is described as agapao or agape in greek meaning selflessness and sacrificial Love for others. So to my limited view that is what casts away fear. Not only trust but ability to selflessly toil and give your time to the object or target of your Love and veneration?

    Jesus is the Word and in the gospels IT says the Word they Held and handled with, so in sense IT equates Jesus with the bible.

    My little view but i think IT has base Sonshine, do you?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you all and amen Stig! Was able to not use the steroid junk yesterday thank you Jesus! The anxiety/agitation junk has been subsiding. Amazing how one little thing can cause the brain wires to go into odd places. He holds my hand when things like this hit:)

      Garden work all afternoon and again today. It’s been wonderful with no snow or more so no below 30 temps!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Please consider a review of this older post on the “Religious Spirit”. This came to mind recently after encountering someone that needed to be set free of this demonic influence. What they say can sound good, but often involved “Religious Rituals” and they tend to not listen to anyone else and demand to be the center of attention. Prayers lifted up for this person, so they can hear clearly from the Holy Spirit and discern when the enemy is disguising itself as light. The light from the enemy is only a thin veil that covers darkness and evil.

    https://jcsouthwest.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/the-religious-spirit/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do concur on what you say JC in that blog on the religious spirit. Only one point i have a bone to pick with and that is the bibleversion part. I can go as far as to use and tolerate bibles that are Based upon the minority texts like Kjv, interlinear Hebrew-greek bible etc and that is what i base on years of studies and comparison.

      IF that makes me religious then IT might but consider the evidence through history. IF/When God moves its big, and after the death and rescurrection of Christ and the revivals in the aftermath there has only been on huge constant period of time where Christian gospel has been running the show for betterment of humanity.

      That period started with the reformation and its benefits are still felt in the west fastly deteriorating though. And still is passing through Asia.
      But that bible that changed the world was Based upon the minority text translated to different languages like german(Luther bible), spanish(Reina Valera), finnish(Biblia 1776), Kjv( English).

      All of these regions save Finland had their golden ages during or after that introduction of the Word of God in them. The regions WHO use the majority text bibles are cultures WHO have been trademarked as violent, oppressive and generally as regions giving the bible a bad name by using forced conversion and violence like the inqusition.

      When the bible does its work the result is liberty of societal level which goes down to personal level.

      And only one bible or derivative of IT has ever done that since Jesus himself walked the earth and that is Kjv, Reina Valera, Luther bible you name it.

      Thats why i dont consider sticking to one bible version a religious spirit because nowadays copyrighting and includiveness have raped(excuse My choice of Word) the truth into submission to general principles that all accept which the bible says is the broad way to destruction and death.

      As i stated im open to derivatives Based on the same text as the Kjv but they are few and far between, Even the Nkjv is not really the same as the original.

      Excuse My ranting but there needs to be a baseline and i dont want to hurt anyone but give them a thread to follow. Remember 90% of all bibles today stem from the majority Westcott/Hort text which cuts away Jesus divinity in so subterfugial ways one could call them infernal!

      Sorry for My rant, its a passion one of few i have outside of reading 😁

      Like

    2. Prayed/praying for someone like this too James. All the answers, overriding the person(s) in authority and so on. It is a very controlling spirit. I think all of us can battle this in certain areas while growing in this walk with the Lord but some of the strong spirits like the one I encountered are very “set” and prayer, prayer, needed! …………I pray this person has an encounter with the Living God. The religious spirit sets itself up as “god” in the one I encountered briefly.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. My reason for posting a link back to an old post was relative to a recent encounter outside of this blog. The Lord knows I am not a professional writer, but he accepts me just as I am.

    Let the Lord be our guide in all things via the Holy Spirit and not man. Look for the Characteristics Of Christ and the Fruit of the Spirit. The Fruit of the Spirit DOES NOT INCLUDE: Anger or Pride.

    DO NOT FOLLOW MEN and their doctrines of any sort. Seek the Lord on our daily walk for: prayer, praise, reading the word of God and what version to use. What works for one person may not work for another.

    What we know for sure — stay away from any Bibles that have removed scripture because they “Made us feel bad”! Some of them now try to say certain sin is now ok! Wrong! God never changes.

    Revelation 22:18-19

    18 I testify to everyone who hears the prophetic words of this book: If anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book. 19 And if anyone takes away from the words of this prophetic book, God will take away his share of the tree of life and the holy city, written in this book.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh i never intended to make you feel bad JC, your blog is top notch. Could say maybe one of the few i find worth My time. Go on jc you are doing great!

      Liked by 2 people

    2. AMEN to that James

      Somehow, some way I got disconnect and stopped receiving your posts. I had to search for your blog????

      Glad I’m reconnected…another great lesson, God’s Blessings to you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

