He Uncovers Their Ears and Terrifies Them With Warnings

The title of this post is a portion of the verse from Job 33:16

Job 33

Elihu Confronts Job

pay_attention_to_my_speech
But now, Job, pay attention to my speech,
and listen to all my words.

mouth_forming_words

2 I am going to open my mouth;
my tongue will form words on my palate.

job33_3

3 My words come from my upright heart,
and my lips speak with sincerity what they know.

job33_4

4 The Spirit of God has made me,
and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.

5 Refute me if you can.
Prepare your case against me; take your stand.

6 I am just like you before God;
I was also pinched off from a piece of clay.

7 Fear of me should not terrify you;
the pressure I exert against you will be light.

job33_8

8 Surely you have spoken in my hearing,
and I have heard these very words:

9 “I am pure, without transgression;
I am clean and have no guilt.

10 But He finds reasons to oppose me;
He regards me as His enemy.

11 He puts my feet in the stocks;
He stands watch over all my paths.”

12 But I tell you that you are wrong in this matter,
since God is greater than man.

13 Why do you take Him to court
for not answering anything a person asks?

14 For God speaks time and again,
but a person may not notice it.

god_speaks_through_dreams

15 In a dream, a vision in the night,
when deep sleep falls on people
as they slumber on their beds,

can_you_hear_me_now

16 He uncovers their ears at that time
and terrifies them with warnings,

job33_17

17 in order to turn a person from his actions
and suppress his pride.

18 God spares his soul from the Pit,
his life from crossing the river of death.

19 A person may be disciplined on his bed with pain
and constant distress in his bones,

20 so that he detests bread,
and his soul despises his favorite food.

21 His flesh wastes away to nothing,
and his unseen bones stick out.

22 He draws near to the Pit,
and his life to the executioners.

warn_eternal_consequences_of_sin

23 If there is an angel on his side,
one mediator out of a thousand,
to tell a person what is right for him

24 and to be gracious to him and say,
“Spare him from going down to the Pit;
I have found a ransom,”

25 then his flesh will be healthier than in his youth,
and he will return to the days of his youthful vigor.

26 He will pray to God, and God will delight in him.
That man will see His face with a shout of joy,
and God will restore his righteousness to him.

27 He will look at men and say,
“I have sinned and perverted what was right;
yet I did not get what I deserved.

saved_from_pit_of_hell

28 He redeemed my soul from going down to the Pit,
and I will continue to see the light.”

29 God certainly does all these things
two or three times to a man

30 in order to turn him back from the Pit,
so he may shine with the light of life.

31 Pay attention, Job, and listen to me.
Be quiet, and I will speak.

32 But if you have something to say, answer me;
speak, for I would like to justify you.

33 If not, then listen to me;
be quiet, and I will teach you wisdom.


“Our God Is An Awesome God”


“Open The Eyes Of My Heart”

23 thoughts on “He Uncovers Their Ears and Terrifies Them With Warnings

  1. Daily Devotional — 2/9/17

    THE MEANING OF CRISIS
    For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7

    Satan delights in causing “panic attacks” in a crisis situation. The Chinese have an interesting lesson in the two characters chosen for their word “crisis.” One character is danger and the other is opportunity. The inference is that in every crisis experience, both elements are present. So a crisis is a dangerous situation presenting an opportunity. When you focus on just the danger, you become paralyzed by fear. Focusing on the opportunity, however, enables you to fly with wings of faith. It is we, ourselves, who choose on which of the two we will focus.

    Similar reasons for our personal fears also keep us from being the voice of God in a fallen world on behalf of His church. There is a time for Christians to speak out forcefully against the injustices and sinfulness of our own society and culture. This is especially true in situations where we can help our brothers and sisters who suffer. But fear can keep us tongue-tied. As the church, we must learn to speak out and not be cowed by fear.

    As mentioned before, Pastor Simeon Popov was a recognized authority figure among the evangelical Christians of Bulgaria. Although his church was officially registered, the police were constantly watching his activities because he didn’t agree with the restrictions imposed by the authorities, in particular those concerning evangelizing.

    One day at a secret river baptism early in the morning, the group was all ready in their white gowns when Simeon saw some “shadows” moving behind the bushes. He realized immediately that they were agents of the secret police spying on them. One of them, who was awkwardly hidden, had a camera.

    Without hesitating, Simeon called to him, “Hey, you. Come a bit closer!” The man sheepishly approached. “Since you have a camera, why don’t you take a picture of our group?” The police officer was so surprised that he just did it without asking questions. Then the ceremony of baptism took place as planned! A few days later, the secret police agent was even fair enough to give the photograph to Simeon who kept it and made copies.

    Remember, when we are fearful, we can claim the promise of Scripture: “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline” (2 Timothy 1:7).

    RESPONSE: Today I will not walk in fear but in the power of God’s Holy Spirit.

    PRAYER: Pray for boldness for pastors today in countries where Satan tries to bind them with fear.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brother James, The word is truly life, comfort, truth, spiritual food! The bible verses you shared here are confirmations in where and who I am in Christ! On fire for Him alone and to live for His glory through my story, in praise and worship. I am awake From 222 to 3am or more each day to commune with Him and pray and have ears to hear. The time is now to draw near to our Lord, I start my day on my knees and my spirit sees who He is all around me while awake and in my sleep. So much rising up for my assignment, it’s my breath and heartbeat that not one perish and I can behold His glory for eternity! Bless your blog!
    Please remember me in your prayers that I am in the will of God and doors close and open in where I need to be as I trust in Him.

    Sister M

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Peggy,

        All I profess comes from my heart…in Christ made will now never part – from Him who knew no sin…

        Lol we are essence sisters in the fragrance of Christ indeed!

        Like

  3. I’ve had 2 things that are for myself:

    * Cut ties with those that refuse to hear the truth, even those that are professing to be Christian and yet continue in bondage of past sin, anger, hurt, unforgiveness, etc.. Ties to be cut, but continue to pray for them.

    * Some new unknown assignment/task(s) coming very quickly. Whatever this is, I know that I am to remain focused no matter what it is that is happening all around me. I felt that during this time, many people will turn on each other and many will lose their eternal souls. At this same time, many more will call upon the name of the Lord for salvation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Word for word what I have been hearing James. I also believe this is also a time to pray over those in danger who are married to unbelievers. For every person to hear from Holy Spirit alone and no other voice for instructions and to follow His peace. God is faithful to cause circumstances to move one of His children where He wants them in some of these instances. Many professing believers are who are married, are only one believer. The other spouse’s hearts are far from the Lord and do not have the roots to weather the crisis coming.

      Please pray for SA. Army is being called in, there’s chaos over the State of the Union Address. I have a dear friend/intercessor, over there asking for help in prayer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yesterday i heard on radio the authorities are going to experiment on bacteriophages who attack cells directly of bacteria and consume them. They are essentially viruses and as antibiotics are failing globally they are becoming desperate! Viruses have been in debate for some time IF they Even classify as living organisms or IF they are something entirely different.

    This passage struck out for me in the Wikipedia file on bacteriophages;

    Phages often have dramatic effects on their hosts. As a consequence, the transcription pattern of the infected bacterium may change considerably. For instance, infection of Pseudomonas aeruginosa by the temperate phage PaP3 changed the expression of 38% (2160/5633) of its host’s genes. Many of these effects are probably indirect, hence the challenge becomes to identify the direct interactions

    It changes genes directly? Insert animal dna or whatever as its application can be by syringe and you have potential for DNA alteration on mark of the beast level totally changing the composition of the recipient!

    Keep an eye out on this one people!

    Nita Horn talked about an idea of this nature about 2 years back of a Gene altering therapy that makes people unfit as recipient of salvation as in this you could inject Nephilim dna and Bang your out of it and you will be told that IT changes you before being injected!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Stig-Ove,

      What radio station did you hear about the bac attackers, so interesting. Spiritual warfare takes another level John 10:10 the thief comes to steal, seek and destroy, I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

      SIS Maria

      Like

      1. Well i happen to be from Finland so i guess you have some problems tuning in finnish language 🤓 But IT was on Iltalehti and iltasanomat in Finland and their news and supported radio stations.

        Like

  5. The shape of our nation and what believers have been taught to believe would certainly make that probable. So many do not believe Jesus heals today. A form of godliness but denying the power thereof………:(

    Like

    1. Stig-Ove,

      Oh my ! A Finland friend in Christ! Well the language of our Lord will do just fine, yet how wonderful this blog by James can bring so many like unique you far in distance, to be one in Jesus. I will check out the link you do kindly sent. Maria

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

