The Son Is The Radiance Of God’s Glory

Hebrews 1

The Nature of the Son

hebrews1_1_4
1 Long ago God spoke to the fathers by the prophets at different times and in different ways.

2 In these last days, He has spoken to us by His Son. God has appointed Him heir of all things and made the universe through Him.

hebrews1_3

3 The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact expression of His nature, sustaining all things by His powerful word. After making purification for sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high.

4 So He became higher in rank than the angels, just as the name He inherited is superior to theirs.

The Son Superior to Angels
5 For to which of the angels did He ever say, You are My Son; today I have become Your Father, or again, I will be His Father, and He will be My Son?

6 When He again brings His firstborn into the world, He says, And all God’s angels must worship Him.

hebrews1_7

7 And about the angels He says:  He makes His angels winds, and His servants a fiery flame,

hebrews1_8

8 but to the Son: Your throne, God, is forever and ever,  and the scepter of Your kingdom is a scepter of justice.

hebrews1_9

9 You have loved righteousness and hated lawlessness;  this is why God, Your God, has anointed You with the oil of joy rather than Your companions.

hebrews1_10

10 And:  In the beginning, Lord, You established the earth,  and the heavens are the works of Your hands;

hebrews1_11

11 they will perish, but You remain. They will all wear out like clothing;

heaven_and_earth_rolled_up

new_heaven_and_new_earth

12 You will roll them up like a cloak, and they will be changed like a robe.
But You are the same, and Your years will never end.

13 Now to which of the angels has He ever said:  Sit at My right hand
until I make Your enemies Your footstool?

hebrews1_14

14 Are they not all ministering spirits sent out to serve those who are going to inherit salvation?


Jesus, Jesus, Jesus – Sweetest Name I Know


There’s just something about That name

17 thoughts on “The Son Is The Radiance Of God’s Glory

  1. Daily Devotional — 10/10/16

    GOD WILL NEVER LEAVE OR FORSAKE US
    “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

    “When I was pregnant with our sixth child,” says Bahar from Central Asia, “my husband Bahtiyar fell ill and was diagnosed with stomach cancer. We often prayed for his healing and together with the few other believers in our village we looked to God for His help. Bahtiyar was also seeing a doctor, but not much could be done for him.

    “Shortly before Bahtiyar’s death several men from the village mosque came to our house and talked to him. They knew he had been a Muslim before and had become a Christian. Now, when he was so ill, they started debating with him and urged him to return to Islam, promising that they would give him a decent burial. Bahtiyar did not have to think about it at all; he refused to deny Jesus and sent the men away.

    “He was with us for three more days; then he passed away and went to be with the Lord. It is our custom to bury our dead on the same day, so when my son went to the other believers in the village and told them that his dad had died they arrived immediately to arrange his funeral. They and other Christians from a nearby town did everything that needed to be done and really took good care of us as a family. According to our tradition Bahtiyar’s body was put in a yurt so people could pay their respects.

    “As we lived in a small village the news that Bahtiyar had died was out in no time and it did not take long before the Mullah and many men from the village came to the yurt and started to shout at the believers. “You can’t bury him here in our cemetery, we don’t want him here! This man has left our religion, he has betrayed us, and we don’t want him to defile our cemetery. Find another place!” They were really angry and even threatened to burn our house and the yurt with Bahtiyar’s body. The believers called the police but it took a while before they arrived. Meantime they moved his body to Kisul, another village nearby.

    “For a while I was completely confused and did not know what to do. Was God still in control? Was He watching over us as a family, over me? Here I was, pregnant with my sixth child, my husband had just died, we had so many problems burying him and the whole village, including my own mother in law, was against us. Where and how were we going to live?

    “God has promised in His Word that He will never leave us, nor forsake us, and He never does. For a brief period I thought that God had left me, but fortunately that did not last long. Soon God reassured me of His presence, I rediscovered my joy in God and I trust that He is in control, even though things in our family have been very difficult this last year.

    RESPONSE: Today I will rejoice in God’s reassurance of His presence and control of all things in my life.

    PRAYER: Thank You, Lord, that You are concerned about the smallest details of my life regardless of the circumstances.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daily Devotional — 10/11/16

    I KNOW WHO HOLDS THE FUTURE
    I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction and knew the anguish of my soul. Psalm 31:7

    Yesterday we read of the faith of Bahar from Central Asia. Pregnant with her sixth child, she lost her husband, Bahtiyar, to cancer. But the Muslims would not allow her to bury him in the town. She continues her story:

    “We were all desperately trying to find a solution. In neighboring Kisul, a plot of land had been given to the Christians to be used as cemetery, so the believers started to dig a grave. Before they had finished, a crowd of people arrived on horseback and in a truck. Three mullahs, many young men, even women and people from the village administration, were shouting and threatening the believers. The atmosphere was grim and the believers had to leave the area to escape a beating.

    “We were not able to bury my husband that day. The next day the believers secretly took his body and took it to a completely different place, much farther away from our village and buried him there at a Christian cemetery.

    “Bahtiyar’s mother, with her addiction to alcohol, was targeted as the channel to put pressure on the family. She is seventy and not a believer in Christ. The Mullah convinced her that the family was a shame and blemish on the village and that she had to kick her daughter-in-law out of her house. She was very angry and told them to leave. She no longer even wanted to see her own grandchildren.”

    During the months that the family were trying to find a solution for their situation, they got a visit from a pastor who lives in the capital city. He had heard about their situation and inquired how they were going to live.

    “How? I don’t know! But one thing I know that God will not abandon us! He promised that in His Word and He is true to His Word. I think the pastor was touched by our situation; he started to help us and several other believers as well. They offered us a house in a nearby town. We were thrilled and we moved. Now we have our own place, with a small garden to grow vegetables. There will always be plenty of needs for the kids, but I have seen that God is faithful.

    “When my little son was born I was so happy! Even though my husband is no longer with us, we make an effort to stay close as a family. The youngest ones do not realize yet that their dad has died; they think he has gone on a trip. We have not been able to visit the grave as we don’t have a car to go the cemetery.

    “I don’t know what the future holds for us, but God is taking care of us. Thank you for praying for us. Pray also for the other families of believers who are still in the village and face hostility every day. Please pray for my mother in law; I would like to see the relationship restored, so that she can enjoy her grandchildren!”

    RESPONSE: Though I also do not know what the future holds, I will trust in Him who holds the future!

    PRAYER: Continue to pray for Bahar and her family, especially reconciliation with her mother-in-law.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

  3. Psalm 62 Common English Bible (CEB)

    Only in God do I find rest; my salvation comes from him.
    2 Only God is my rock and my salvation— my stronghold!—I won’t be shaken anymore.
    3 How long will all of you attack others; how long will you tear them down
    as if they were leaning walls or broken-down fences?
    4 The only desire of this people is to bring others down low; they delight in deception. With their mouths they bless, but inside they are cursing. Selah

    5 Oh, I must find rest in God only, because my hope comes from him!
    6 Only God is my rock and my salvation— my stronghold!—I will not be shaken.
    7 My deliverance and glory depend on God. God is my strong rock.
    My refuge is in God.
    8 All you people: Trust in him at all times! Pour out your hearts before him!
    God is our refuge! Selah

    9 Human beings are nothing but a breath. Human beings are nothing but lies. They don’t even register on a scale; taken all together they are lighter than a breath!
    10 Don’t trust in violence; don’t set false hopes in robbery.
    When wealth bears fruit, don’t set your heart on it.
    11 God has spoken one thing— make it two things—
    that I myself have heard: that strength belongs to God,
    12 and faithful love comes from you, my Lord—
    and that you will repay everyone according to their deeds.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Any contact from the Arizona delegate Michael of B2? Has Arizona been seceded to Mexico or did Michael’s Ford run out of Gas in Panama? No news, where are you man?

    Like

    1. Stig-ove,
      I have heard NOTHING from him, Deb, or Kenzel (Kathy). Christine responds to e-mails, but not the 4 mentioned first. He (Michael) went out to fight a fire, and then I heard nothing more. The Lioness group has been dis-banded for a few months now. I believe Debra Walker said he’s in Utah now?

      Like

      1. I’ve reached out to several people that were once active on these blogs, but mostly get “Crickets” back in return. Good to keep everyone in prayer, as some might be going through “Stuff” that the Lord can help them with.

        Like

  5. Stig, I’ve shared JGLM with a few people, Deb is one I recently sent a link. It’s amazing how God uses so many ministries to bless us, but this one on healing has really blessed me. We are each so uniquely made! There are times God uses the way a person ministers the Word to really break through areas religion has messed up. With all going on He led me to a time out to soak in the Word in the area of learning to walk in His healing, learning to KEEP WALKING IN IT (the challenge) and learning to be ready to minister to others.

    It’s so sad how religious doctrine can sneak in with doubts in certain areas. Except for the few fortunate enough to be raised in a home full of faith and the love of the Lord, America has been so man indoctrinated in the churches………we kicked God out, put Him in a box, but Glory to God, He has an army and those lies are all about to be exposed for His Glory and His purposes.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry Peggy. It is John G Lake Ministry. I’ve read his book years ago and saw a clip on healing from Curry Blake. I do not know where the ministry stands on prophecy at all. I’ve been listening to the healing and faith videos etc. It’s the most scriptural and balanced teaching on the subject I have ever heard. The part 1 in the healing series is just amazing. God knows how to use a person to fit our way of learning!

        Like

  6. Daily Devotional — 10/12/16

    THE BODY OF CHRIST AT WORK
    …so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. Romans 12:5

    Training for Christian women in Pakistan, where poverty and illiteracy abound, has proven to reflect the character of the body of Christ.

    A student says, “It’s important for me to be here so I can learn to read and write. Then I can read the Bible for myself, which is the most important thing for me. I want the Gospel to spread throughout our country. Now I study hard and I can write my name. I intend to stand before the people and read the Bible by myself so that other people may be encouraged to learn to read and write in the same way.

    One teacher named Gladys says, “I have a gift for sewing, cutting, and embroidery. The other gift God has given me is to share with other people and tell them about Jesus. That is the opportunity I have and that is what I am doing here. When I began here, I said to them, ‘I am not educated. I can’t teach anyone.’ But then the Lord said to me, ‘This is My work. I will use you.’

    “We do face discrimination because we live in the midst of people who don’t want us to move forward, people who keep trying to push us down so that we will always be in slavery. But the women testify to what God has done for them in their lives. From the time they first come here, I can see God changing their lives because the way they speak changes and they talk about the love they’ve been shown and how that has affected their lives. If someday a mother’s children are Christian because I taught her, I would be so happy because I would know that God had done His work through me.

    Another teacher reports, “I first came to the center to learn sewing skills. But my father took me out of the center. He sent me to work for a Muslim family who lived in Turkey. The family said that I should give up my faith because it was no good. I told them that God had blessed me through this faith, and that I could not find such a blessing anywhere else, and that my faith meant everything to me.

    “Then one time, when their daughter was ill, they taunted me and said I better pray for her and see what Jesus would do. So I did pray for her, and she was healed. They knew I had prayed to my God for her and so they exclaimed, ‘Glory to God! Surely your Jesus does answer prayers.’

    Before I left them, I testified to them, and they said that my prayers work, but I told them, ‘It’s not my prayers. It is the Lord who causes us to pray and it is the Lord who heals.’ And they had to admit that it was true, and that my God truly does work.”

    Another student concludes, “The Church is the body of Christ. We have to help each other to share the love of Jesus as He has shown us.”

    RESPONSE: Today I will share my giftedness with others and help build up the body of Christ.

    PRAYER: Pray for the Open Doors training sessions around the world—especially among poor Christian women.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

    1. Sonshine,

      Is JGLM a website, book, or both?

      I have to tell everyone that our church hosted Matthew Senn, a Messianic Jew on Friday night (3 hours) and Saturday morning (5 hours). We saw signs, wonders, and miracles!!! He said that there was tremendous freedom in the house (“where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is LIBERTY”). It was absolutely AMAZING and definitely a high-light of my entire life. Yes, I experienced a healing.

      If anyone is interested, they can check him on Facebook “Matthew Senn Ministries.” He has traveled all over the world since 2002, I believe. He is very humble and gives ALL the honor and glory to Jesus Christ.

      Like

  7. Proverbs 1:20-33

    Wisdom’s Plea
    20 Wisdom calls out in the street; she raises her voice in the public squares.
    21 She cries out above the commotion; she speaks at the entrance of the city gates:
    22 “How long, foolish ones, will you love ignorance? How long will you mockers enjoy mocking and you fools hate knowledge?
    23 If you respond to my warning, then I will pour out my spirit on you
    and teach you my words.
    24 Since I called out and you refused, extended my hand and no one paid attention,
    25 since you neglected all my counsel and did not accept my correction,
    26 I, in turn, will laugh at your calamity. I will mock when terror strikes you,
    27 when terror strikes you like a storm and your calamity comes like a whirlwind, when trouble and stress overcome you.
    28 Then they will call me, but I won’t answer; they will search for me, but won’t find me.
    29 Because they hated knowledge, didn’t choose to fear the Lord,
    30 were not interested in my counsel, and rejected all my correction,
    31 they will eat the fruit of their way and be glutted with their own schemes.
    32 For the turning away of the inexperienced will kill them,
    and the complacency of fools will destroy them.
    33 But whoever listens to me will live securely and be free from the fear of danger.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

