Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law

The title of this post comes directly from Galatians 3:13

Galatians 3

Galatians3_1_5

Justification through Faith
You foolish Galatians! Who has hypnotized you, before whose eyes Jesus Christ was vividly portrayed as crucified? 2 I only want to learn this from you: Did you receive the Spirit by the works of the law or by hearing with faith? 3 Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now going to be made complete by the flesh? 4 Did you suffer so much for nothing—if in fact it was for nothing? 5 So then, does God supply you with the Spirit and work miracles among you by the works of the law or by hearing with faith? 

Galatians3_6_9

6 Just as Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him for righteousness, 7 then understand that those who have faith are Abraham’s sons. 8 Now the Scripture saw in advance that God would justify the Gentiles by faith and told the good news ahead of time to Abraham, saying, All the nations will be blessed through you. 9 So those who have faith are blessed with Abraham, who had faith.

Galatians3_10_12

Law and Promise
10 For all who rely on the works of the law are under a curse, because it is written: Everyone who does not continue doing everything written in the book of the law is cursed. 11 Now it is clear that no one is justified before God by the law, because the righteous will live by faith. 12 But the law is not based on faith; instead, the one who does these things will live by them.

Galatians3_13

13 Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, because it is written: Everyone who is hung on a tree is cursed. 14 The purpose was that the blessing of Abraham would come to the Gentiles by Christ Jesus, so that we could receive the promised Spirit through faith. 15 Brothers, I’m using a human illustration. No one sets aside or makes additions to even a human covenant that has been ratified. 16 Now the promises were spoken to Abraham and to his seed. He does not say “and to seeds,” as though referring to many, but referring to one, and to your seed, who is Christ. 17 And I say this: The law, which came 430 years later, does not revoke a covenant that was previously ratified by God and cancel the promise. 18 For if the inheritance is from the law, it is no longer from the promise; but God granted it to Abraham through the promise.

Galatians3_19_25

The Purpose of the Law
19 Why then was the law given? It was added because of transgressions until the Seed to whom the promise was made would come. The law was put into effect through angels by means of a mediator. 20 Now a mediator is not for just one person, but God is one. 21 Is the law therefore contrary to God’s promises? Absolutely not! For if a law had been given that was able to give life, then righteousness would certainly be by the law. 22 But the Scripture has imprisoned everything under sin’s power, so that the promise by faith in Jesus Christ might be given to those who believe. 23 Before this faith came, we were confined under the law, imprisoned until the coming faith was revealed. 24 The law, then, was our guardian until Christ, so that we could be justified by faith. 25 But since that faith has come, we are no longer under a guardian, 26 for you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus.

Galatians3_28

Sons and Heirs
27 For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ like a garment. 28 There is no Jew or Greek, slave or free, male or female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus. 29 And if you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, heirs according to the promise.


“Blessed Assurance”


“All To Jesus I Surrender”


Satan_Not_Welcome_Here


Actual picture of Full Rainbow seen this evening over my small town — 08/29/16

Branson_West_Rainbow_082916

12 thoughts on “Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law

  1. Update on Bette & John’s Son.

    He came through surgery fine and will be going into I.C.U. for a few days. Then he must go into rehab to possibly relearn things and they are praying that he has no seizures.

    Continued prayers for his salvation would be appreciated.
    Bette sends thanks to all those who prayed for him.

    Thank You Jesus. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Galatians one of my favorites. I named my second son based on biblical heroes that symbolize redemption from sin. With the idea coming from Galatians!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my, good post! My last trip to TX, I stopped in at an old friend’s to get a hair cut……….She leaned over and whispered in my ear, “Can you believe all the people going to hell because they are unaware of needing to keep the feasts……..”

    I love the studies, I fail the law daily……….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My idea is that people would not go to hell because of being unaware of needing to keep the Feasts. I’m not an expert, but I believe that the Lord judges on our love, loyalty, intimate relationship with Him, doing what He has assigned and planned for us to do, etc.

      I wish everyone would learn about the Feasts and even take personal time out and honor them. I believe there must be a special blessing in doing so.
      Someone like me— I’m being taught about the Feasts at church and am given an opportunity to observe them at church— well, I believe I’m more accountable to reverence them than someone that is completely unaware.

      I don’t believe this affects our salvation. That seems too legalistic.
      Although it could be likely that a person that is pressing into the Scriptures and personal relationship will receive special revelation on the Feasts.

      During the Millennium, ALL on earth will be required to attend The Feast of Tabernacles in Jerusalem. That is in Scripture. As my Pastor says, the feasts are eternal mandates (like the Sabbath), so we might as well start observing them now.

      This is not meant in an argumentative tone. It is the sincere sharing of an opinion.

      Blessings!

      Like

      1. We need to be led by the Holy Spirit in all things. We need to be praying for Clarity, Discernment and Wisdom in all things. We don’t want to be bringing about “Religious Doctrine”, but instead working on our daily walk with the Lord.

        Serving the Lord does not need to be complicated. Come as you are, being humble and repent of sin.

        If we make our walk with the Lord complicated, it can bring about unnecessary stress that puts up a wall between us and him.

        Matthew 11:28-30
        28 “Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 All of you, take up My yoke and learn from Me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for yourselves. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Post Edit Notes — I added the rainbow picture, which I took before sunset 08/29/16. I think this is the first full rainbow I’ve seen. I’ve seen pieces of them before, but I don’t recall actually seeing a full one in person.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Daily Devotional — 08/30/2016

    THE WITNESSING POWER OF THE HOLY SPIRIT
    “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses…” Acts 1:8a

    Prior to her Christian husband being released from prison in Iran, Maheen, feared that she might be arrested too. So she seriously prayed, “Dear Lord, I am not ready to go to a solitary confinement because of my Christian faith. It is such a closed and dirty environment. As you know I was born and brought up in a wealthy family and had a comfortable life. Please don’t test me beyond my ability.” She told God she would not be able to handle being arrested and mentioned her fear that she might give the names of all believers in the house churches to the police or even deny Jesus.

    Three days later, the secret police knocked at her door. She said to God, “I have already asked you not to put me in this temptation. So whatever happens, it is not my fault. Because I had already told you that I am not a strong person and can’t stand against these security people and can’t tolerate persecution.”

    She said, “The police blindfolded me and took me to the solitary confinement. I was scared to death and felt sick as the place was very smelly.” They put her in a cell and a few hours later brought her in for interrogation. She added, “I sensed the presence of the Holy Spirit very strongly. And I felt that God’s peace came down on me and my fear went away.”

    When Maheen stood before the high official, she courageously testified of her Christian faith. “It is an honour for me to talk to people about Jesus. I will be very happy to talk to you about Jesus and salvation too. Like all other people and Muslims, you also need Jesus in your life. Without Jesus a person does not have any peace and life is hopeless and without any purpose. Jesus laid his life down for you too so that you can have salvation and will not perish.”

    The official responded in anger, “Do you know what the consequence of all this will be for you? You can’t evangelize me. It will cost you a heavy price.”

    On the third night the official came to her cell. Maheen was frightened fearing that he came to abuse her sexually or to beat her up. But the official told her, “Don’t be afraid of me. I need your prayers. When you shared about Jesus with me, it had such a powerful impact on my life. I need to be saved. I need Jesus in my life. I believe God has sent you to come to this prison so that you can share about salvation with me. I am now completely aware of the fact that without Jesus I will be a miserable and hopeless person and I will perish. Please pray for me that I can be set free from this hell I live in.”

    Maheen had the chance to share about Jesus for three hours with him and at the end he repented of his sins and committed his life to Jesus. The official testified that for the first time he experienced the real peace and love of God in his life.

    Maheen and her husband were both released from prison and are in touch with this official and his wife secretly. The wife of the official has committed her life to the Lord too.

    RESPONSE: Today I will walk and talk in the power of the Holy Spirit and trust God to use me as a witness wherever He places me.

    PRAYER: Thank God for the power of His Holy Spirit among committed brothers and sisters in Iran.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

  6. I also saw my first full rainbow! A few weeks ago here. It was going north to south, it was double, another first and we could see the whole thing. I’ve been seeing many posts on my FB from others seeing them…more signs with all going on too I believe.

    Volcano’s, earthquakes, floods, droughts…every day somewhere now. I must admit, Winter is something I’m not prepared for here. I know we will see snowfall unlike any other time in history here. Farmers Almanac (wonder if that’s done at times by the illuminati, not sure) said it will be a horrible Winter, but even before that, I’ve been getting warnings.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. While Linda is taking a break from her blog and unless something catastrophic happens you Can Jc tell her to drop by from time to time! And tell her not too much chili burgers so she stays in fighting shape 🙂

    Im digging blood out of my nose but thats what geographic distance is for….. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.