Past Mistakes

Remember that if we truly repent of all our sin, Satan and his smelly minions have no hold over us.  They can try to bring up past sin, but we have authority in Christ Jesus to send these nasty things back to the pit of Hell from which they came.  Satan and his groupies are all losers and they know their time is running out!

Repentance & Belief In Jesus Christ

Repent_1Repent2

Joel 2:12 [ God’s Call for Repentance ] Even now— this is the Lord’s declaration— turn to Me with all your heart, with fasting, weeping, and mourning.

Matthew 3:11 “I baptize you with water for repentance, but the One who is coming after me is more powerful than I. I am not worthy to remove His sandals. He Himself will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.

Matthew 4:17 From then on Jesus began to preach, “Repent, because the kingdom of heaven has come near!”

Luke 5:32 I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

Luke 15:7 I tell you, in the same way, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over 99 righteous people who don’t need repentance.

Death_Defeated

John 3:16-18  16 “For God loved the world in this way: He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send His Son into the world that He might condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through Him. 18 Anyone who believes in Him is not condemned, but anyone who does not believe is already condemned, because he has not believed in the name of the One and Only Son of God.

Acts 8:22 Therefore repent of this wickedness of yours, and pray to the Lord that the intent of your heart may be forgiven you.

Past_Mistakes1Past_Mistakes2

Remember Past Sins No More

remember_sin_no_more1

Hebrews 8:12  For I will be merciful to their wrongdoing, and I will never again remember their sins.

Remember_Sin_no_more2

Isaiah 43:18 “Do not remember the past events, pay no attention to things of old.

Press_On_Toward_The_Goal

Philippians 3:12-21  “Reaching Forward To God’s Goal”

12 Not that I have already reached the goal or am already fully mature, but I make every effort to take hold of it because I also have been taken hold of by Christ Jesus. 13 Brothers, I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead, 14 I pursue as my goal the prize promised by God’s heavenly call in Christ Jesus. 15 Therefore, all who are mature should think this way. And if you think differently about anything, God will reveal this also to you. 16 In any case, we should live up to whatever truth we have attained. 17 Join in imitating me, brothers, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us. 18 For I have often told you, and now say again with tears, that many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their end is destruction; their god is their stomach; their glory is in their shame. They are focused on earthly things, 20 but our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. 21 He will transform the body of our humble condition into the likeness of His glorious body, by the power that enables Him to subject everything to Himself.

Remember_sin_no_more3

Psalm 25:7 Do not remember the sins of my youth or my acts of rebellion;
in keeping with Your faithful love, remember me because of Your goodness, Lord.

Remember_sin_no_more4

Psalm 51:10 God, create a clean heart for me and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Remember_sin_no_more5

2 Peter 1:8-9  8 For if these qualities are yours and are increasing, they will keep you from being useless or unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 The person who lacks these things is blind and shortsighted and has forgotten the cleansing from his past sins. 


Consider checking out this information about scripture that deals with past mistakes. http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/top-7-bible-verses-about-past-mistakes/


“All To Jesus I Surrender” – Vineyard

29 thoughts on “Past Mistakes

  1. EXCELLENT topic and reminder, James. So many times the sulfur dwellers may try to bring up our past, or things that have happened to us in the past, to bring us GRIEF or condemnation.
    GRRRRR . . . Boot those demonic minions out!!! . . . BAM!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Post Edit Notes:

    We as “Brothers & Sisters In Christ” also have to restrain from bringing up past sins of others. We are unable to remove memories, but we need to be cautious about bringing up what other people have done. We can easily be found guilty of Gossip and possible unforgiveness. We should instead pray for the people who have hurt us somehow and also pray for those that have lost their way. There is never a “free pass” to Gossip, just like there’s not a justified version of lies. We can’t lie, even if we have a good reason to do it.

    We all need to ask the Lord to reveal to us individually, what our weaknesses are and then ask for help. Some questions we can all ask — Am I lying about anything in my life, and feel it is justified somehow? Am I pretending to be someone I am not, for some reason that I feel is justified? Am I blaming someone else for the problems in my past or present? Am I trying to hold others to a higher standard than what I can obtain myself?

    Sometimes we just need to be quiet and take everything to the Lord in prayer. We can get ourselves “worked up” and become nervous people that seem to always be in a state of “panic”, when we don’t wait on the Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Done a fair amount of kicking my self. Finally wore out my big toe and resorted to buying steel toed boots. Than Yah showed me the favored elements used by our nemesis to create panic, condemnation and confusion.

    Joshua and David while in the battlefield were allowed to grow as a result of being had by these same two elements.

    TIME AND LAND.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hmm reflecting on the past i have made some mistakes but being mostly a hermit living all alone for most Of my life except nowadays, i have to say that opportunities to grieve others have been minimal. But so has also opportunities to see people at their best been.

    As i havent been judged too severely by others i tend not to judge others too severely except maybe for a short time.

    Both good and bad things contained within my experiences. But one meaning for holiness is to be separate in mind from society and grow in the Word until Time and space grows us to be what the Lord wants us to be.

    Good observation Endtimeepoch

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great post James and a timely reminder.

    I always found it easier to forgive others for their mistakes then to forgive myself. BUT…It’s so important to not let the enemy hound us relentlessly. Any time spent on old stuff is time spent away from God. So now when I ask God to forgive me I also make sure I forgive myself. I consider it the end of the story. Sure I remember, but I don’t allow the enemy any kind of stronghold that would keep me in bondage. It’s more important for us to concentrate on the here and now. Our focus needs to be on God…and that can only happen if we are in His word and in prayer.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for sharing that Robot article and video Stig. I guess they never read the Science Fiction book or saw the movie “I Robot”? The book was originally published in 1950.

      Like

  6. A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 24 Jul 2016 07:16 AM PDT

    “Oh the darkness of man’ soul. How evil the day. Great heartache in store for many as the darkness and evil spreads. Indeed men’ hearts will fail them for fear, but not many will repent. Roots of pride and arrogance have gone deep throughout many nations allowing the darkness and evil to continue.

    Many cry for revival, but where is the repentance? Man’ hearts are far from Me, yet you cry for revival. Do not continue to bring shame to My Name by your wicked disobedience and defiant disregard for My Truth. Take a stand for righteousness. Be not conformed or comfortable in this world. Be broken by the brokenness all around you. See the lost among you.

    You have been given much, yet clamor for more. Man sees on the outside, God sees the heart. Examine your heart, be cleansed from all unrighteousness. Repent and do the work of the LORD.”

    “If My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14
    “Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away, in order that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord…” Acts 3:19
    “With what shall I come to the LORD and bow myself before the God on high? Shall I come to Him with burnt offerings, with yearling calves? Does the LORD take delight in thousands of rams, in ten thousand rivers of oil? Shall I present my firstborn for my rebellious acts, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul? He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” Micah 6:6-8

    Like

  7. Daily Devotional — 07/25/16

    EMPATHY WITH THOSE NEEDING COMFORT
    Comfort, comfort my people, says your God. Isaiah 40:1

    In July, 2011 the world was stunned as peaceful Norway experienced a bombing in downtown Oslo and the shooting massacre at a youth camp outside the capital. When the dust settled, the shocking death toll stood at seventy-six. Letters and e-mails of comfort, support and prayers for the grieving families and nation poured into the Open Doors-Norway office. On July 25th our Norwegian Director sent out the following message:

    On behalf of our people and nation, I want to thank all of you around the world who are praying for us and are sending words of comfort after the terrible acts that have shaken the nation.

    A week ago my wife and I met the Ortiz family in Ariel, Israel. They experienced a bomb attack that almost killed their son Ami a few years ago. They gave us a cup with the Israeli and Norwegian flags on it, and an inscription from Isaiah 40:1, Comfort, yes comfort my people! The last days these words have become a message to our people, the Norwegian nation.

    In Haifa we also met the parents of a Christian girl who was one of many victims after a suicide bomber killed dozens of Israeli school children on a bus some years ago. Every year they have a memorial day. They have buttons with the text: ‘Don’t forget – don´t forgive.’ But the Christian parents said, ‘We cannot wear that button. We do not want revenge or hatred to fill our hearts. We are called to forgive and love.’ But of course, they will always have the pain.

    It is not possible to find words that express the pain and sadness we feel after such cruel deeds. But we can already see good and beautiful things coming up. People are focusing on how to comfort and help each other. People cry together, and king, queen and prime minister show their emotions before the whole nation. Politicians from different parties are talking to another in a different way, and people admire their good leadership in this difficult time. There are great discussions and wise speeches about the most important subjects. As a nation we have hard days, but also days of learning.

    People come to church in a very humble way. It is a place for prayers, lamentations, hope, comfort and love in these days; a place to meet the Comforter and Saviour.

    In Open Doors we frequently get information about terror against sisters and brothers from so many places in the world. Some times it feels ‘far away.’ But now we will hopefully understand more of the fear and threat every persecuted Christian faces in their lives.

    Grace and peace! The staff of Open Doors-Norway

    RESPONSE: Thank God that He comforts us so that we can use His comfort to comfort others.

    PRAYER: Pray today for all brothers and sisters experiencing the fear and pain of terror and loss.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “o” designates a national monument to an abomination.
    Notice that white Sculptures of 2 gay men and 2 gay women are part of this “park.”
    So many “lost” people that need to be found and founded on the Rules of Heaven as set forth in the Holy Bible. If not, and without repentance and full-turning away from this, a horrible eternity is potentially in store. I’m praying for them.
    http://www.cnn.com/2016/06/24/travel/stonewall-inn-first-lgbt-national-monument/

    Like

  9. Do Not Be Alarmed — Jul 25, 2016 11:16 am | Glynda Linkous

    My children, you have noticed the shaking going on in relationships around you. Do not be alarmed, for did I not tell you I would shake everything loose that was not of Me?

    What is not of Me will not be able to survive what is yet ahead for My people, so I must do this.

    Cling to My Word and My Ways, not to your lives in the earth, and all will be well.

    1 Corinthians 15:33 Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.

    2 Corinthians 6:14 Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

    1 Corinthians 6:18 Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.

    Proverbs 3:5-7

    5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

    6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

    7 Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil.

    Joshua 1:9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

    Isaiah 41:10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, so quiet around here too. That moment of birthing when all is well, all is far along. The apprehension grows over the actual birth pains, the longing for no problems with the birth or the child….. along with the excitement of a new life coming into the home, the world. Those last souls coming to know Him. His Peace as He assures, all will be well in time.

      Yesterday we had military choppers circling us and our neighbors a couple times. Last night, after dark, they were flying low, not sure what they were doing because I prayed a covering over us, our neighbors and went to sleep. Things seem so any moment, yet so quiet? Even in the midst of the normal noises, almost too quiet………

      I want to thank the Lord for His goodness, His mercy, His love in all things. For every blessing we have and every soul He sets in our paths. I want to thank Him for His free gift of salvation, and for saving me from a life doomed to hell. For being able to “see” what is happening and for the privilege of prayer! What an honor that is, wow, we talk to God Himself and He listens……..makes me feel the size of an ant, yet at the same time, a daughter of the King of Kings.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Daily Devotional — 07/26/16

    SPIRIT OF FORGIVENESS
    … “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” Matthew 6:14-15

    A Spanish father and son were estranged. The father later went to search for his son. When he could not find him, the father put this ad in the Madrid newspaper:

    “Dear Paco, meet me in front of this newspaper office at noon on Saturday. All is forgiven. I love you. Your Father.”

    Saturday noon, 800 Pacos showed up at the office looking for forgiveness and love from their fathers.

    Forgiveness is one of the most powerful actions that Christians can perform. The world does not understand the ability or reasons to do this because it is most unnatural in a dog-eat-dog world. There is also pain to be overcome because behind every act of forgiveness lies the wound of betrayal; but there is far more pain and emotional, social, physical damage done when we do not forgive.

    An Asian Christian apologist says, “If I am asked what separates Christianity from other religions, or what’s different about Christianity, aren’t all religions the same when you get down to it?’ one of the first things that I would say is bound up in this one beautiful word: forgiveness.”

    Peter asked Jesus how many times he should forgive a brother who sins against him. He thinks he is magnanimous and suggests seven times! Jesus makes his famous reply, “…not seven times, but seventy-seven times (Matthew 18:22).

    Jesus then shares a parable about a man who, after much pleading for mercy, was forgiven for much and yet would not forgive another person who owed him little. In the parable, the master throws the man into jail to be tortured until he pays back his large debt. Then comes the conclusion: “This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother from your heart” (Matthew 18:35).

    RESPONSE: Today I will forgive others who hurt me because God has commanded it and because my own forgiveness depends on it.

    PRAYER: Lord, give me a spirit of forgiveness toward others who hurt me, just as You have forgiven me.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Watch Now Jul 26, 2016 05:00 am | Glynda Linkous

    My shaking is coming to your government, America, for My Judgments are at the door.

    NOTE: In the spirit, I saw panic, disorder and chaos in the White House, but not the reason for it – it appeared that something very upsetting had happened on a very large scale.

    Darkness has invaded America and the enemy lurks within its borders. A plan is underway to surprise you with an attack that will shock the world. In days past, I would have shielded you (America), but you no longer walk in My Ways, preferring abomination to blessing. So abominations you shall have.

    NOTE: When He said abominations we would have, I knew He meant very literally, but I could not see if He meant abominable creatures, people, or what form we will have them in.

    Watch now as I bring to pass the abominations you have desired.

    NOTE: It occurred to me that radiation mutates living things, and could cause creatures we would consider abominations to occur.

    Psalm 9:5-18

    5 Thou hast rebuked the heathen, thou hast destroyed the wicked, thou hast put out their name for ever and ever.

    6 O thou enemy, destructions are come to a perpetual end: and thou hast destroyed cities; their memorial is perished with them.

    7 But the Lord shall endure for ever: he hath prepared his throne for judgment.

    8 And he shall judge the world in righteousness, he shall minister judgment to the people in uprightness.

    9 The Lord also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.

    10 And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, Lord, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.

    11 Sing praises to the Lord, which dwelleth in Zion: declare among the people his doings.

    12 When he maketh inquisition for blood, he remembereth them: he forgetteth not the cry of the humble.

    13 Have mercy upon me, O Lord; consider my trouble which I suffer of them that hate me, thou that liftest me up from the gates of death:

    14 That I may shew forth all thy praise in the gates of the daughter of Zion: I will rejoice in thy salvation.

    15 The heathen are sunk down in the pit that they made: in the net which they hid is their own foot taken.

    16 The Lord is known by the judgment which he executeth: the wicked is snared in the work of his own hands. Higgaion. Selah.

    17 The wicked shall be turned into hell, and all the nations that forget God.

    18 For the needy shall not always be forgotten: the expectation of the poor shall not perish for ever.
    read more

    Like

  12. It is interesting how in America you still have watchmen/women on the wall like Glynda. But in Europe it seems those with an message of warning are so few or marginal its almost like there is none. The people i talk to and bring a message of warning just seem nonchalant or as long as i can afford to eat its ok.

    Has the Lord done his time with Europe already do you think? There is an american/Japanese guy named Peter Tsukahira who wrote a book in Finnish Jumalan Hyökyaalto or Gods Tsunami maybe in english where he says the gospel goes on a world tour starting in Israel going north, south and west until it ends up in Israel or Jerusalem again.

    Maybe that is one reason the words of warning are so feeble in Europe, the gospel is in China and south east asia at the moment and will pass through India and Arabic countries before ending up in Israel again.

    Just a thought

    Like

    1. All good questions Stig-Ove — maybe those people who are sending out prophetic words, can answer that one for you? I personally believe the United States is the one being warned now, as they are considered the most powerful, evil and dangerous nation. Way too much corruption and evil now a normal way of life by our leaders. History tells us that many Evil nations/empires get completely destroyed. God has been removed from the foundations set by the original leaders, and the United States continues to mock the Lord daily.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Have to add this thought to the tsunami line. Jesus said he is the water that quenches your thirst forever!

    If you have a wave of living water that washes all sin away like it did in Europe through the reformation and in America with the colonization, is it possible that as the wave moves further toward Asia that those who warn that the living water is now moving onward or watchmen are lake the last living fish in pockets of living water formed by the wave ie biblical preaching or christianity.

    Hope you catch my meaning 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  14. WARNING!
    A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 27 Jul 2016 12:03 AM PDT

    “False flags, false flags see them clearly – false flags*. Truth there is none. My people have been given lies, lies spoken as truth. In politics, in the pews, lies spoken as truth.

    Judgment has begun in both the house of God and the house of government. Lies will be used to bring down the mighty in the land. The strong voice of opposition** will soon be silenced. Careless disregard for Truth will cost this nation much. My people, prepare.”

    * false flags in this context will be events that the government will either initiate or tweak, adding to or omitting information to advance their agenda.

    **the opposition I understood to be voices of believers who take a stand against the evils of the land. Those who stand in opposition against the government, false doctrines, false gospels…..

    “Who is the man who desires life And loves length of days that he may see good? Keep your tongue from evil And your lips from speaking deceit.” Psalm 34:12-13
    “Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience.” Ephesians 5:6
    “They profess to know God, but by their deeds they deny Him, being detestable and disobedient and worthless for any good deed.” Titus 1:16
    “Sanctify them in the truth; Your word is truth.” John 17:17

    Like

  15. Daily Devotional — 07/27/16

    EXAMPLE OF JESUS
    “Father, forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:34a

    On January 23, 1999, 58-year-old Australian Baptist missionary Graham Staines and his two sons were burned to death when the vehicle they were sleeping in was doused with gasoline and set on fire, allegedly by members of a Hindu fundamentalist group, in the Indian state of Orissa. Graham Staines had been working with leprosy patients for thirty-four years.

    Hundreds of millions witnessed Gladys Staines, Graham Staines’ widow, forgive her family’s murderers in the name of the gospel on Indian television—a scene which moved many to tears “and may have achieved more for the gospel in India than many years of missionary work,” according to an Indian evangelist.

    Describing her prompt forgiveness of the killers as a “spontaneous act,” Gladys Staines says, “it took away the bitterness” that otherwise would have remained in her heart. Since the incident she has people coming to her door asking how they can become Christians.

    The imagery she used was also powerful. “Let us burn hatred…and spread the flame of Christ’s love.”

    Forgiveness is to be given even when it is not asked for. On the cross, forgiveness was one of the first words of Jesus. The soldiers doing the crucifying had not asked for forgiveness but Jesus realized their need of it.

    Forgiveness can only be truly accomplished in the power of the Holy Spirit. But when given, it communicates most powerfully the love of God. And we are called to be like God, to bear God’s family resemblance.

    Forgiveness is a personal transaction that releases the one offended from the offense. The forgiveness required by the scriptures is more than detached or limited forgiveness, it is full and complete forgiveness in which there is a total cessation of negative feelings toward the offender and the relationship being restored has the possibility to grow.

    RESPONSE: Today I will show Christ’s love by forgiving those who do not even ask for forgiveness.

    PRAYER: Lord, may I be like You and through the power of Your Holy Spirit forgive completely those who bring offenses against me.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Difficulties — Jul 27, 2016 05:00 am | Glynda Linkous

    This Season of Changes will be a difficult one for many of My people. Those who have gotten off My path and those who have gone the way of their desires.

    I shall make many changes now in the lives of My people. Some of you I will bring up, and some I shall bring down, but all will benefit in the end.

    Submit yourself to Me, therefore, that I may do My good pleasure to and through you, and all will be well with you.

    Remember, I am with you always.

    Psalm 75:6-9

    6 For promotion cometh neither from the east, nor from the west, nor from the south.

    7 But God is the judge: he putteth down one, and setteth up another.

    8 For in the hand of the Lord there is a cup, and the wine is red; it is full of mixture; and he poureth out of the same: but the dregs thereof, all the wicked of the earth shall wring them out, and drink them.

    9 But I will declare for ever; I will sing praises to the God of Jacob.

    1 Peter 5:6-9

    6 Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:

    7 Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

    8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

    9 Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.

    Proverbs 3:5-7

    5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

    6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

    7 Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Daily Devotional — 07/28/16

    WHAT FORGIVENESS IS AND IS NOT
    Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. Colossians 3:13

    To understand forgiveness we must realize what forgiveness is NOT:

    · Forgiveness is not forgetting. Deep hurts can rarely be wiped out of one’s awareness.

    · Forgiveness is not reconciliation. Reconciliation takes two persons, but an injured party can forgive an offender without reconciliation.

    · Forgiveness is not condoning. Forgiveness does not necessarily excuse bad or hurtful behavior.

    · Forgiveness is not dismissing. It involves taking the offense seriously, not passing it off as inconsequential or insignificant.

    · Forgiveness is not a vague notion of ‘tolerance’. This is, at best, a low-grade parody of forgiveness. At worst, it’s a way of sweeping the real issues in life under the carpet.

    · Forgiveness is not pardoning. A pardon is a legal transaction that releases an offender from the consequences of an action, such as a penalty.

    Throughout the Old Testament we read that only God can forgive sins. We hear David exclaim, “He forgives all my sins…” (Psalm 103:3). We also see examples of human forgiveness—even in pain—like Joseph forgiving his brothers for selling him into slavery. Joseph gains true freedom. He then names his son Manasseh, “one who causes to be forgotten.”

    In the New Testament we see Jesus, the Lamb of God, come into to the world to die for our sins. Through His shed blood we can once and for all receive ultimate forgiveness. This is the pure “gospel of grace.” This forgiveness is a gift. We do not deserve it but God, in His grace, reached out to provide forgiveness to a dying world.

    Then we read in the verse above the impact of this on those of us who have received that forgiveness. Its ethical challenge parallels “love your enemies” and “pray for your persecutors.”

    In the final analysis, forgiveness is an act of faith. By forgiving another, I am trusting that God is a better justice-maker than I am. By forgiving, I release my own right to get even and leave all issues of fairness for God to work out. I leave in God’s hands the scales that must balance justice and mercy. I simply forgive others and leave them to God.

    RESPONSE: Today I will leave fairness and justice in God’s hands. I will obediently forgive others just as the Lord forgave me.

    PRAYER: Lord, grant me the faith to trust You with the offenses committed against me. I will forgive.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

  18. A Long Time
    Jul 28, 2016 06:00 am | Glynda Linkous

    Many of My children have waited a long time for the fulfillment of My promises to them.

    My precious ones, in My Word the men of old also waited as you now do. Each case was for a reason. If you search My Word you will see the reason why.

    Be not weary in well doing while you wait, for I am faithful to fulfill all I have spoken to you!

    Galatians 6:9 And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

    Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

    2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

