Let Your Light So Shine Before Men

The title of this post comes from Matthew 5:14-16

let_your_light_shine_1

14 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

This part of scripture tells us that we are not to be ashamed of our relationship with the Lord, but instead let it shine as we go about in our daily tasks.


I was thinking about how to come up with some inexpensive emergency solar lanterns that could be made without the need for experience in arts or crafts, etc..   I decided to make some lanterns out of the canning jars that I had stored up.   The canning jars were stored after many failed attempts to can food for emergency.   The only thing I’ve been able to can successfully is jams, preserves and pickles.  Everything else spoiled and turned into alcohol.   Well I guess If I wanted to make moonshine, I would have found the right recipe 🙂

moonshinehomemade_canning

I spent most of my life in big cities like Saint Louis and Kansas City Missouri, so I had no prior experiences with what many see as “country living”.  I’ve also never been one that has had great success in what many would term as arts or crafts.

My past failures in canning, gave me a ton of resources for these solar lanterns.  You only need the following to make them:

  • Glass Jars with Lids (don’t need the seals that come with them)
  • Glue Gun
  • Heavy Gauge Wire
  • Needle-Nose Pliers
  • Exterior Solar Lights from the Dollar Tree 

I keep them stored in a window at all times, so you’d need something better than glue to make these weatherproof, if you plan to keep them outside.  I discovered that these were not an original idea, and you can find many examples of them on youtube.

Branson_Solar_Lights_1Branson_Solar_Lights_2

Linda took these 2 pictures for me.  The first is me making them and the second is what they look like at night.  The lanterns don’t put out a lot of light, but it would be enough to read from or use in various areas in your home.  I’m sure many of you can come up with your own variations on these.


“This Little Light Of Mine”

32 thoughts on “Let Your Light So Shine Before Men

  1. Some scripture for today — 07/06/2016: Reminder to let the Holy Spirit guide us in all things. Each situation we encounter, may result in specific direction from the Holy Spirit. What works for one person under a given circumstance, may not work for another. Listen to what Jesus says in the scripture.

    Mark 16:17-18

    17 And these signs will accompany those who believe: In My name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new languages; 18 they will pick up snakes; if they should drink anything deadly, it will never harm them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will get well.”

    The Power of Faith over a Demon — Matthew 17:14-21

    14 When they reached the crowd, a man approached and knelt down before Him. 15 “Lord,” he said, “have mercy on my son, because he has seizures and suffers severely. He often falls into the fire and often into the water. 16 I brought him to Your disciples, but they couldn’t heal him.”

    17 Jesus replied, “You unbelieving and rebellious generation! How long will I be with you? How long must I put up with you? Bring him here to Me.” 18 Then Jesus rebuked the demon, and it came out of him, and from that moment the boy was healed.

    19 Then the disciples approached Jesus privately and said, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?”

    20 “Because of your little faith,” He told them. “For I assure you: If you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will tell this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you. 21 However, this kind does not come out except by prayer and fasting.]”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 05 Jul 2016 11:13 PM PDT

    “Hollow are the words coming from churches in America. Pathetic attempts to worship I do not hear. Sin has reached the throne room of God –
    Justice cries in the street, but no one hears. My people are perishing for lack of knowledge.”
    ****************************************************************************

    “I hate, I despise your feasts, and I take no delight in your solemn assemblies. Even though you offer me your burnt offerings and grain offerings, I will not accept them; and the peace offerings of your fattened animals, I will not look upon them. Take away from Me the noise of your songs; to the melody of your harps I will not listen. But let justice roll down like waters, and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream.” Amos 5:21-24

    “Thus says the LORD: “Keep justice, and do righteousness, for soon my salvation will come, and my deliverance be revealed.” Isaiah 56:1

    “Therefore justice is far from us, and righteousness does not overtake us; we hope for light, and behold, darkness, and for brightness, but we walk in gloom. Justice is turned back, and righteousness stands far away; for truth has stumbled in the public squares, and uprightness cannot enter”. Isaiah 59:9, 14

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Daily Devotional — 07/06/16 (Reminder that we may see Christianity becoming illegal in the United States!)

    THE WORD OF GOD IS LIFE
    “The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God endures forever.” Isaiah 40:8

    Amir, a young Algerian man, was temporarily staying in an apartment of a friend while recovering from depression. His friend had moved out leaving only a few items behind, but unbeknownst to him, he had left behind his most prized possession, God’s Word!

    “While I was cleaning the apartment, I found a New Testament,” Amir says. “This New Testament changed my life. I found the Lord Jesus Christ by reading the book.” In the following months leading into years, he kept reading the Bible. Slowly, his depression lifted and the recovery and healing began to transform his life.

    Amir continues, “One day I was watching Christian satellite TV and I saw the phone number of another Christian in Algeria. I immediately contacted that person and soon afterwards we met, which was great. This brother in Christ brought me into contact with a small group of believers, which I am attending regularly now. Praise to God for His healing and mercy. And thanks to the one who forgot his New Testament in the apartment.”

    Meanwhile, Brother Gideon is in prison in Eritrea with a group of other believers because of their faith. He says, “The government representatives came up with a new idea to ask us to stop our faith and sign an agreement that we will not read the Bible. We will not pray and not have a meeting of more than two people. If we comply with that, we will sign and they will release us from the prison. But I told them I will not. Because of the Holy Spirit’s assurance in me I was ready to face anything…I said ‘No, Christ is my life. As Paul said in the book of Ephesians that for me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.’

    “They beat every part of my body…until I almost died. I was thinking of Jesus. What an honor for me to share his affiliation. I remember I said to myself inside, ‘Lord, please forgive them. They don’t know what they are doing to me, but I give you my soul to rest in your hand.’

    “They took us to the prison again. After three months we had a Bible smuggled in without their knowledge. We tore the pages out of different Bible books and we distributed those to different cells.

    “We chose four believers to take responsibility to do distribution of the parts of the Bible. I was one of those four chosen believers and it was my responsibility to coordinate all these things. Because there is no paper in the prison cells, I was using toilet paper to write verses of the Bible and send them to others. When the government agents searched our cell, they found all those verses I sent to the sisters. They asked ‘Who sent those papers, those verses?’ When they found it was me, they put me under severe torture for months. There was no part of my body without pain.

    “One of the persecutors asked me a question. ‘Why you are paying so big a price? Why don’t you renounce your faith and live a peaceful life?’ I replied, ‘To me, the Word of God is life!”

    RESPONSE: Today I will honor and prize God’s Word and build my life upon its everlasting promises.

    PRAYER: Pray for those in prisons around the world who pay a huge price for loving God’s Word.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good articles/info. I don’t know about the date(s) but we certainly are racing towards a one world religion. It grieves my heart over the prayer by the Pres. church……there are many more we are not yet aware of. The Co Springs battle over a sign on a bench saying “Jesus is Lord” is huge. It shows the outright way people are beginning to hate believers. Our schools….Common Core. Undermining parental values and brainwashing our children. Wow, I could go on, it’s only a matter of time before it is truly at our doorstep.

    Truly a time to be salt as never before. There are still those who don’t know Jesus and I pray the body reaches them before catastrophe hits. May be an unusual prayer, but have been led to pray for those in the areas that will be hit as the wake up shakings occur. That they know Jesus, are safe in His arms and to remove/protect those that aren’t ready to die yet.

    Like

  5. I am asking everyone to please provide the link to any news articles or other information you are sharing, so we can view the source and look at any other findings they may be providing. I only ask that nobody please provide any live links to Facebook. We have to make sure that what we are sharing is truthful, since there is a host of false information that is being placed all over the internet.

    Thanks for understanding.

    Like

  6. I Am Looking — Jul 06, 2016 01:01 pm | Glynda Linkous

    Are you ready, My children? Are you ready to fight the enemy with Me? Are you ready to stand for what is right and lay down what is wrong in your lives? Will you purify yourselves that more of My mighty power might flow through you?

    I am looking for My army in this time, I am looking for My brave ones, My chosen – those who will fight to the death and not love their lives. I am looking….

    What will I find when I look at you?

    2 Chron. 16:9 For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to shew himself strong in the behalf of them whose heart is perfect toward him. Herein thou hast done foolishly: therefore from henceforth thou shalt have wars.

    Exodus 15:3 The Lord is a man of war: the Lord is his name.

    Revelation 19:11-13

    11 And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war.

    12 His eyes were as a flame of fire, and on his head were many crowns; and he had a name written, that no man knew, but he himself.

    13 And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God.

    Like

  7. Daily Devotional — 07/07/2016:

    OPEN AND CLOSED DOORS
    “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

    The Bible has much to say about open doors but many times – even as Christians – we seem to face obstacles on our path and in our ministry. Blocked doors can be VERY frustrating. Yet God often uses closed doors to advance His cause.

    Bible teachers like Max Lucado remind us that God closed the womb of a young Sarah so he could display His power to the elderly one. He shut the palace door on Moses the prince so he could open shackles through Moses the liberator. He marched Daniel out of Jerusalem so he could use Daniel in Babylon.

    And even Jesus knew the challenge of a blocked door. When he requested a path that bypassed the cross, God said no. He said no to Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane so He could say yes to us at the gates of heaven.

    It’s not that our plans are bad but that God’s plans are better.

    A prayer is circulating on the Internet that expresses it this way:

    He asked for strength that he might achieve, he was made weak that he might endure;

    He asked for health to do larger things, he was given infirmity that he might do better things;

    He asked for power that he might impress men, he was given weakness that he might seek God;

    He asked for wealth that he might be free from care, he was given poverty that he might be wiser than carefree.

    He asked for all things that he might enjoy life, he was given life that he might enjoy all things;

    He received nothing he asked for.

    He received more than he ever hoped for.

    His prayer was answered!

    Blessed man!

    The shortest distance between a closed and open door is the distance between your knees and the floor. The one who kneels to the Lord can stand up to anything.

    RESPONSE: Today I will accept that my blocked door doesn’t mean God doesn’t love me. Quite the opposite. I’ll see it as proof that He does.

    PRAYER: Thank You Lord that You know best and have even better plans for me and my service for You. Help me wait patiently for You to open the right door at the right time!

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

    1. So what’s going on with all the unlikely parents killing their children and/or spouses……..would that be a “mind control” thing? Wow. VERY SAD!

      Like

      1. Peggy, what comes to mind is several possibilities: Mind Control, Demonic Possession and even Government involved “suicide” victims — basically people that the Government assassinates and then makes it look like the person was “crazy”. Much like what happened to all the Doctors who came up with natural cures for cancer and other chronic illness — all of them “suicides”?

        Liked by 1 person

    2. In response to Jasons video…

      12 minutes and 45 seconds of proof that we have reached a point of no return.

      Interesting Quotes from Obama:

      1. He begins with him saying…”The Prayers of the America People…not “MY” prayers are with…
      2. Next he says, “First of all”. Long pause (for effect I’m sure and to choose his words carefully). “The integration of national economy is into a global economy”. Another pause. “That here”. Now go back and be ready to stop the video at 1:07 right after he says “That’s here”. Now look at that face, see the arrogance.
      3. Know he is correct; “they” have accomplished what “they” set out to accomplish. He is proud!
      4. Then he says, “That’s done”!
      5. It’s true, it is done.
      6. His next comment assures us there is no question of when or if, there is a global economy.
      7. Chuck Hagel continues and repeats (in 18 short seconds) the term “New World Order” 3 times.
      8. It’s essential for them to drive that point home to “we the people”.

      Sadly this “NEW WORLD ORDER” is going to be embraced by the masses.

      Let us not forget the very first President to publicly use that phrase, “New World Order” was President, George Herbert Walker Bush. Point is this, it is, and has always been a joint effort for longer then we want to know. We have been fooled and lied to for a very long time.

      The video (my husband and I listened to Sat. evening) at the bottom is long but a good listen and is very well done. and timely. We’ve spent much time over the past 30 years reading about the subject of the establishment of the “New World Order” and yet learned much, much more by taking the time to listen to this video. and the history it includes. History that certainly wasn’t taught in school. It’s important to be educated in these areas because it brings confirmation to what Linda and others are sharing with us and times we are in.

      Obama says, ‘We’re going to keep on pushing hard to shape an “international order” that works for “our” people”.

      We must ask ourselves who are “OUR PEOPLE” that he refers to? I can assure you, I am not HIS people. I’m Gods people…AMEN AND AMEN

      The remainder of Jason’s video proves the degree of how bad things are in our country and across the world.

      The video…

      We are in the eleventh hour!

      Our King of Kings is in CHARGE, His will be done.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. We are seeing some ripples in the financial fabric now. 7 major investment companies in Britain have shut down their operation for one day so that customers cannot withdraw money!

    Italian banks are on the verge, soon it will be very panicked people around and then Linda might have to ship her soapbox to Finland for emergency use to spread the gospel.

    This will be a summer to remember im sure!
    I read this from Finnish talouselämä, so if Jc and Peggy brushed up on finnish i can link it here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stig-Ove, what you shared is confirmation of what Jason A put on his latest video. It shows how much “God” is being removed from all aspects of life and it’s becoming illegal in many areas to even use the word “God” in any form. Nobody should be shocked when the Lord’s Judgments are seen.

      Like

  9. Take Action — Jul 07, 2016 10:31 am | Glynda Linkous

    So many of My children are stuck where they are. They have fallen into a rut and refuse to make the effort to change their circumstances.

    My children, why are you allowing the enemy’s plans to succeed? Why do you settle for so much less than My Word says I have for you? Why do you think that is My will for your life?

    I desire My children would stop listening to the enemy’s lies about Me, about My ways, and about My refusal to help them. My plans and purposes for you are good, My precious ones. Only the one who comes to steal, kill and destroy will tell you otherwise.

    John 10:10 The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

    Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

    3 John 2 Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

    Psalm 18:30 As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the Lord is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.

    Like

  10. A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 08 Jul 2016 12:00 AM PDT

    “The testings of each day demand My children rest in My Amazing Grace. Your strength is insufficient for your task. Grow in My strength. Challenges are opportunities to see the greatness of your God. My child, see the greatness, and the goodness of your God.

    Hosts of angels surround the child of God. No weapon formed against them will prosper – but many will try and all will fail for I will protect and defend those who belong to Me.”

    “Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.” James 1:12

    “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” Romans 12:12

    “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. …” James 1:2-8

    Like

  11. Daily Devotional — 07/07/16:

    SPEAK ON BEHALF OF THOSE WHO SUFFER
    At my first defense, no one came to my support, but everyone deserted me. May it not be held against them. 2 Timothy 4:16

    The Apostle Paul knew exactly what it was like to be alone, to be deserted by all who called themselves “brothers” and “sisters.” A former colleague who has done considerable travel among the persecuted says, “It is hard to believe that Christians are the largest persecuted group in the world today. But it is even more difficult to believe that this is so seldom mentioned in our gatherings and church services. More Christians know the names of their favorite actors than their fellow believers who are in prison.”

    He continues, “With every trip something in my heart breaks as I hear the echoes of suffering:

    I remember the echoes of an Egyptian mother as she shared how her young boy was stuck in a haystack because she refused to deny Jesus.
    I remember the sounds of weeping as fellow students in Indonesia shared how Sariman, their co-student, was hacked to death.
    I remember the cries of anguish as we walked from church to church that was burned to the ground on the island of Lombok.
    I remember the tears of Rebecca in Iran as she showed the picture of her father who was stabbed to death for sharing the gospel.
    I remember the voice of Pastor Daniel in Vietnam as he shared how he was chained to the ground for six months.
    I remember the fear of Grace from Sudan as she shared how her church was attacked and her friend was shot through the head.
    Oh, I remember the cries of Caleb in Eritrea as he shared with tears how two dear friends were executed in front of him because of their faith.
    And I remember the tears of Joy in the southern Philippines as she shared how her fiancé was shot to death in their church in Mindanao.
    But, most all, I remember the deafening sounds of silence every time I return home.
    RESPONSE: How can I be silent today? How can I not speak on behalf of those who suffer? How can I desert those that belong to the same body that I belong to and who desperately need the encouragement of my intervention on their behalf?

    PRAYER: Lord, broaden my awareness of the needs of my suffering brothers and sisters. May I not be known for my silence.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

Leave a Reply

