Pride Comes Before Destruction

Two definitions of Pride:
*     a feeling that you respect yourself and deserve to be respected by other people
*     a feeling that you are more important or better than other people

It’s time many get down off that pedestal they are building for themselves.  It’s not about you or what you have done.  Only the Lord gets the Glory!   This is not about your ministry, teaching, prophecy, or any other gift you have been given!  This is all about more souls for the Kingdom!

Pride_before_FallThe_Fall1

all_about_me1

Proverbs 16:5,18-19

5 Everyone with a proud heart is detestable to the Lord; be assured, he will not go unpunished.
18 Pride comes before destruction, and an arrogant spirit before a fall.
19 Better to be lowly of spirit with the humble than to divide plunder with the proud.


Psalms14_3_5

Psalm 14  “A Portrait of Sinners”

1 The fool says in his heart, “God does not exist.”
They are corrupt; they do vile deeds. There is no one who does good.
2 The Lord looks down from heaven on the human race
to see if there is one who is wise, one who seeks God.
3 All have turned away; all alike have become corrupt.
There is no one who does good, not even one.
4 Will evildoers never understand? They consume My people as they consume bread;
they do not call on the Lord.
5 Then they will be filled with terror, for God is with those who are righteous.
6 You sinners frustrate the plans of the afflicted, but the Lord is his refuge.
7 Oh, that Israel’s deliverance would come from Zion!  When the Lord restores the fortunes of His people,  Jacob will rejoice; Israel will be glad

Matt7-23

Matthew 7:22-24

22 Many will say to Me in that Day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Thy name, and in Thy name have cast out devils, and in Thy name done many wonderful works?’
23 And then will I profess unto them, ‘I never knew you: depart from Me, ye that work iniquity.’


“Because He Lives, I Can Face Tomorrow”


 “Nearer, My God, to Thee”


“You’ll Never Walk Alone”


 “How Great Thou Art”


 “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God”

14 thoughts on “Pride Comes Before Destruction

  1. A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 08 Jun 2016 07:20 AM PDT

    “There are coming great events that will shake the foundations of all. Even My children will tremble at all that happens. Your armor must be in place for battle lines are drawn and the enemy advances.

    Take opportunity to speak of My goodness, mercy and love. Proclaim My goodness to all. There is no peace for troubled man apart from the Prince of Peace. As times grow more troubling man will seek peace. Worldly peace, but not My peace. Man’ heart continues to remain far from Me. Man’ heart cares for the world, My heart cares for mankind. I will do what is necessary to bring man to his knees.

    Too many seek a false peace through false doctrines and quick fixes; offering easy roads but not roads that lead to My finished work on the cross.”

    “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:27

    “For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.” Romans 8:6

    Like

  2. Daily Devotional – 06/09/2016:
    MEDITATE ON GOD’S WORD
    I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you. Psalm 119:11

    Over and over the Scriptures direct us to meditate on God’s Word. This activity takes time and discipline but brings much spiritual benefit and reward. Meditation is focused thinking about a Bible verse or passage in order to discover how we can apply its truth to our own lives.

    In applying Scripture, we need to ask three primary questions.

    • What did it mean to the original hearers?

    • What is the underlying timeless principle?

    • Where or how should I practice that principle?

    Here are six specific ways to meditate on a verse or passage:

    • Picture it. Visualize the scene in your mind.

    • Pronounce it. Say it aloud each time, emphasizing a different word.

    • Paraphrase it. Rewrite the verse in your own words.

    • Personalize it. Replace the pronouns or people with your own name.

    • Pray it. Turn the verse into a prayer and say it back to God.

    • Probe it. Ask the following questions:

    – Is there any sin to confess? Is there any promise to claim?

    – Is there any attitude to change? Is there any command to keep?

    – Is there any example to follow? Is there any prayer to pray?

    – Is there any error to avoid? Is there any truth to believe?

    – Is there something for which to thank God?

    When Laos was taken over by a communist government, the leading pastor, Rev. Sail was put into a prison camp for three years of “re-education.” He referred to it later as his university experience. During that time he led five men to Christ in the camp. He had no Bible so he discipled these new believers on scriptures he had memorized and internalized. Later those men became leaders in the church.

    RESPONSE: Today I will learn to meditate on God’s Word.

    PRAYER: Pray for Christians in prisons of the world where they do not have a Bible.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the need to post these verses in scripture again. God does not say something one day and then say “Never Mind”!, or “Just Kidding”! He also does not change. We can’t pick and choose the written word. If it’s in the “Word of God”, it’s not meant to be a selectivity of verses we are in agreement with and then ignoring the ones that make us feel uncomfortable. We best be sure it is the Lord we are hearing from by way of the Holy Spirit and not a demonic presence disguising itself as the Holy Spirit and even quoting scripture. Remember — Satan knows the Bible and can quote scripture! These smelly sulfuric creatures can be setting up True Christians for failure, so they are out of the way of bringing more into the Kingdom.

    We need to pray for clarity, discernment, wisdom, truth and confirmation in all things!

    1 Corinthians 14:33 For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.

    Isaiah 55:11 so shall My word be that goeth forth out of My mouth: It shall not return unto Me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

    Psalm 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted on the earth.

    1 John 4:1-3 “Testing the Spirits”

    Beloved, do not believe every spirit [speaking through a self-proclaimed prophet]; instead test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets and teachers have gone out into the world. 2 By this you know and recognize the Spirit of God: every spirit that acknowledges and confesses [the fact] that Jesus Christ has [actually] come in the flesh [as a man] is from God [God is its source]; 3 and every spirit that does not confess Jesus [acknowledging that He has come in the flesh, but would deny any of the Son’s true nature] is not of God; this is the spirit of the antichrist, which you have heard is coming, and is now already in the world.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Which Tool? — Jun 09, 2016 10:33 am | Glynda Linkous

    I was praying for saints and listeners who I know are going through difficult times and facing terrible obstacles when the Lord showed me a flash vision.

    I saw a saint with a box of tools. He was smiling as he combed through the tools finding just the right one to overcome a mountainous obstacle in front of him. As he quickly overcame the mountain, he smiled even more and kept moving forward. Another saint sat nearby, crying and anguished. He also had a tool box, but his was unopened.

    I have set before you all you need to overcome every attack of the enemy, whether it be against you or someone you love, but so many of My people never open their box of mighty tools I have supplied for these purposes.

    My children, do not cry to Me to fix what is wrong when I have already given you all you need to overcome. I will not answer your prayer if it is not in line with My will for you and My will is that you would also learn to overcome the enemy.

    Why do you neglect so great a gift as these I have given you? Why do you cry to Me when I have already given you all you need, but you refuse to use it?

    I saw another flash then, this time of a child who wanted something drawn on his paper. He had the pencil, but refused to pick it up and draw with it, crying for someone else to do the work for him.

    Look at what you have, for all you need is there before you. Which tool will you use to defeat the enemy who distresses you?

    Luke 10:19 Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

    Ephesians 6:11-13
    11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.
    12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
    13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

    James 4:7 Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

    Isaiah 54:17 No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.

    Psalm 144:1 Blessed be the Lord my strength which teacheth my hands to war, and my fingers to fight:

    Revelation 2:17 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.

    Like

  5. Daily Devotional – 06/10/2016:

    THE POWER OF GOD’S WORD
    For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Hebrews 4:12

    Jesus is our best example of dependence on the written Word of God. He quoted scripture repeatedly. When Satan tempted Him in the wilderness, for example, He quoted scripture in answer to each of Satan’s demands (Matthew 4:1-11). Jesus based His teaching on the Old Testament Scriptures and referred to them frequently for historical examples. It can be said that Jesus authenticated almost every book in the Old Testament by quoting from it at least once as divine authority!

    It is especially interesting to note how Jesus used the scriptures after His death and resurrection. While walking with some followers on the road to Emmaus, He began “with Moses and all the Prophets” explaining “…to them what was said in all the Scriptures concerning Himself” (Luke 24:27).

    The central place scripture held for the early church is evident throughout the book of Acts. Scripture was used to explain the events of Pentecost (Acts 2:16-21), to identify Jesus as the Messiah (2:25-28), to determine their reaction to persecution (4:23-26), to state the church’s position in the face of persecution (7:1-53), to preach Christ (8:29-35), and to determine how to accept Gentile believers (15:13-21).

    There are literally hundreds of examples of New Testament Christians and the writers of the epistles using the Old Testament Scriptures to prove their positions. In fact, it is so basic to sound biblical teaching that it is still common in evangelical circles today. The Bible is our true source of divine knowledge.

    Outside the city of Seoul, Korea stands the memorial to the martyrs of the Korean church. Interestingly, the first picture in the gallery is of a Welshman, R. J. Thomas. We learned about him earlier as he gave his life taking the Bible into northern Korea in 1866. The nephew of a scholar became a Christian by reading a gospel portion plastered on the compound wall of the man who killed Thomas. The young man reportedly helped a Scottish missionary, John Ross, make the first translation of the New Testament into Korean in Shenyang, China a mere twenty-five years later. This led to the first group of believers in the country of Korea even before foreign missionaries arrived. The Word of God is powerful!

    RESPONSE: I will treasure God’s powerful and living Word, today.

    PRAYER: Thank You Lord for the power of Your Word! May it impact North Korea anew in my generation.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

  6. Timing — Jun 10, 2016 08:05 am | Glynda Linkous

    My timing is always perfect. My children are in a hurry for all they ask Me for, but My timing is part of My masterpiece – My Word, My Creation, everything you see around you is on My timing.

    If the seasons of earth get off My timing, all of creation suffers. I have set My timing inside every living thing for it to function as one world. Your life, too, has My timing inside it. When you rush ahead of Me and try to make things happen yourselves, you work against My timing and this makes your endeavors unsuccessful.

    My children, wait for My timing. Just believe Me, believe I have your situations in hand and allow Me to work them out to your highest benefit in My timing. You will be glad you did. My solutions shall make you very glad.

    Ecclesiastes 3:1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

    James 1:4 But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Daily Devotional – 06/11/2016

    COMMUNICATION WITH GOD
    Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. Colossians 4:2

    Pastor Ha’s church in Vietnam grew from twenty-nine to over 5,000 in just a few years during the communist regime in the late 1970’s. When asked the secret of this phenomenal church growth, Pastor Ha replied, “I have a very simple theology. When you have problems, pray! When you have more problems, pray more!” Every morning this church had a well-attended prayer meeting at six a.m. And the church grew and grew. Although they were constantly living under pressure, there was one scripture text chosen for the wall of their sanctuary, “In everything give thanks.”

    And yet after his years of imprisonment, Pastor Ha said, “When I had my freedom, I worked with prayer sometimes in the background. In prison, I discovered that prayer is everything. It’s like a pilot using a checklist before he takes off. If he skips the first item, many lives might be in danger. The first item on our checklist should always be prayer. If we skip it, the whole mission is in jeopardy.”

    Vietnamese Pastor Cuong also spent over six years in prison. He says this about prayer:

    In my work I was so busy I had no time to pray. But in prison, I was thankful to God that He gave me time for prayer. I had about six hours of prayer every day. I had time to recall every member of my congregation to pray for them. Before that, although I served the church, I didn’t have enough time to pray for them. I learned about the real presence of God in prayer there. When you kneel down and pray wholeheartedly with the Lord, you feel His answer right there.

    All of the world’s major religions emphasize prayer. The Buddhists repeat their prayers fervently, although they do not believe anyone is listening. The Hindus pray regularly, believing one of their many Hindu gods may be listening, but they do not really expect any response to their prayers. The Muslims pray five times a day. They believe that Allah is listening, but he will not alter his plans to meet their needs.

    Devout Buddhists, Hindus and Muslims consider Christianity a prayerless faith, because they rarely see Christians praying. Yet we believe—and know—we have a God who not only hears our prayers, but also will answer them in mighty power!

    RESPONSE: Today I recommit to spending time in communication—prayer—with my Lord.

    PRAYER: Pray that all Christians in prison will experience God’s presence in a special way today.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Like

Leave a Reply

