False Prophets & Teachers To Be Punished

false_prophetsmoney_preachers

Listening_To_Spiritreligious_spirit2

We must be careful when using phrases like “The Lord Told Me..” or “The Holy Spirit Said..”.  Make sure you receive confirmation before saying those things!  You could be listening to a spirit of deception!

twist_not_scriptureNarrow_Gate

We also best make sure we aren’t twisting scripture!  I’ve heard so many people say “Cast not your pearls before the swine” (referencing Matthew 7:6), but they are using that scripture to justify stating it’s fine to condemn a group of people or someone to hell!  Really!  Did the Lord hang out with sinners or pharisees? 

Some Questions To Ask?

  • Are we trying to change a situation ourselves and claiming the Holy Spirit told us to do something?
  • Are we truly hearing from the Holy Spirit, or simply our own thoughts?
  • Are we praying and asking the Lord for guidance and confirmation in all things that others share with us?  Discernment is the key.

Consider checking out this excellent article: http://www.gotquestions.org/guidance-Holy-Spirit.html

proverbs3_1

Proverbs 3:1-12 “Trust The Lord”

My son, don’t forget my teaching, but let your heart keep my commands;
2 for they will bring you many days, a full life, and well-being.
3 Never let loyalty and faithfulness leave you. Tie them around your neck;
write them on the tablet of your heart.
4 Then you will find favor and high regard in the sight of God and man.
5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own understanding;
6 think about Him in all your ways, and He will guide you on the right paths.
7 Don’t consider yourself to be wise;  fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
8 This will be healing for your body and strengthening for your bones.
9 Honor the Lord with your possessions and with the first produce of your entire harvest;
10 then your barns will be completely filled, and your vats will overflow with new wine.
11 Do not despise the Lord’s instruction, my son, and do not loathe His discipline;
12 for the Lord disciplines the one He loves, just as a father, the son he delights in.

Jeremiah9_23

Jeremiah 9:23-24 “Boast In The Lord

23 This is what the Lord says:  The wise man must not boast in his wisdom;
the strong man must not boast in his strength; the wealthy man must not boast in his wealth.
24 But the one who boasts should boast in this, that he understands and knows Me—
that I am Yahweh, showing faithful love, justice, and righteousness on the earth,
for I delight in these things. This is the Lord’s declaration.

Divine_Direction

Isaiah 48:17

17 This is what the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel says:  I am Yahweh your God, who teaches you for your benefit, who leads you in the way you should go.

revelation20_7_10

2 Peter 2 “The Judgment Of False Teachers”

But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly bring in destructive heresies, even denying the Master who bought them, and will bring swift destruction on themselves.

2 Many will follow their unrestrained ways, and the way of truth will be blasphemed because of them.

3 They will exploit you in their greed with deceptive words. Their condemnation, pronounced long ago, is not idle, and their destruction does not sleep. 

4 For if God didn’t spare the angels who sinned but threw them down into Tartarus and delivered them to be kept in chains of darkness until judgment;

5 and if He didn’t spare the ancient world, but protected Noah, a preacher of righteousness, and seven others, when He brought a flood on the world of the ungodly;

6 and if He reduced the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah to ashes and condemned them to ruin, making them an example to those who were going to be ungodly;

7 and if He rescued righteous Lot, distressed by the unrestrained behavior of the immoral

8 (for as he lived among them, that righteous man tormented himself day by day with the lawless deeds he saw and heard)—

9 then the Lord knows how to rescue the godly from trials and to keep the unrighteous under punishment until the day of judgment,

10 especially those who follow the polluting desires of the flesh and despise authority. Bold, arrogant people! They do not tremble when they blaspheme the glorious ones;

11 however, angels, who are greater in might and power, do not bring a slanderous charge against them before the Lord.

12 But these people, like irrational animals—creatures of instinct born to be caught and destroyed—speak blasphemies about things they don’t understand, and in their destruction they too will be destroyed,

13 suffering harm as the payment for unrighteousness. They consider it a pleasure to carouse in the daytime. They are spots and blemishes, delighting in their deceptions as they feast with you.

14 They have eyes full of adultery and are always looking for sin. They seduce unstable people and have hearts trained in greed. Children under a curse!

15 They have gone astray by abandoning the straight path and have followed the path of Balaam, the son of Bosor, who loved the wages of unrighteousness

16 but received a rebuke for his transgression: A donkey that could not talk spoke with a human voice and restrained the prophet’s irrationality.

 17 These people are springs without water, mists driven by a whirlwind. The gloom of darkness has been reserved for them.

18 For by uttering boastful, empty words, they seduce, with fleshly desires and debauchery, people who have barely escaped from those who live in error.

19 They promise them freedom, but they themselves are slaves of corruption, since people are enslaved to whatever defeats them.

20 For if, having escaped the world’s impurity through the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, they are again entangled in these things and defeated, the last state is worse for them than the first.

21 For it would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness than, after knowing it, to turn back from the holy command delivered to them.

22 It has happened to them according to the true proverb: A dog returns to its own vomit, and, “a sow, after washing itself, wallows in the mud.”

depart_from_me_into_Lake_OF_Fire

Jeremiah 14:11-16  “False Prophets To Be Punished”

11 Then the Lord said to me, “Do not pray for the well-being of these people.

12 If they fast, I will not hear their cry of despair. If they offer burnt offering and grain offering, I will not accept them. Rather, I will finish them off by sword, famine, and plague.”

13 And I replied, “Oh no, Lord God! The prophets are telling them, ‘You won’t see sword or suffer famine. I will certainly give you true peace in this place.’”

14 But the Lord said to me, “These prophets are prophesying a lie in My name. I did not send them, nor did I command them or speak to them. They are prophesying to you a false vision, worthless divination, the deceit of their own minds.

15 “Therefore, this is what the Lord says concerning the prophets who prophesy in My name, though I did not send them, and who say, ‘There will never be sword or famine in this land.’ By sword and famine these prophets will meet their end.

16 The people they are prophesying to will be thrown into the streets of Jerusalem because of the famine and the sword. There will be no one to bury them—they, their wives, their sons, and their daughters. I will pour out their own evil on them.”


Refer to the following for this blog posting, all prior postings and all future postings relevant to images, links or anything else.  This blog is not a business, does not collect money and is used only for educational purposes.

https://jcsouthwest.wordpress.com/copyright-fair-use-notice/

49 thoughts on “False Prophets & Teachers To Be Punished

  1. Approaches — May 15, 2016 11:50 am | Glynda Linkous

    The enemy approaches your life even now with his plan of attack. He has assigned many to defeat you. You must be exceedingly vigilant, My children, for his attacks come in subtle ways, but cause much damage and destruction.

    Listen for My voice and I will lead you in the way of safety.

    1 Peter 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

    Isaiah 30:21 And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.

    James 3:5-6
    5 Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!
    6 And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I agree, both Linda’s and James’ articles are timely and important. The deception out there is really getting cranked up. There is a lot of “second heaven chatter,” especially around the Trump issue.

    We just have to be careful about which Spirit we listen to. I am comforted that Jesus said, “My sheep hear my voice.”

    Liked by 4 people

  3. A Watchman on the Wall — Posted: 15 May 2016 11:13 PM PDT
    “When doubts arise and fears dismay, lean on Me. Do not attempt to take a stand apart from Me. Strong enemies of the cross desire to destroy, to sift as wheat those that belong to Me. Your hope, your strength is found in Me.

    Children, seek to be close to your Abba Father. Do not wander away from My teachings. Your lives will soon become more complex. Trust that I AM that I AM and be guided by what you know to be truth.”

    “For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, so that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.” Romans 15:4
    “Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10
    “Oh give thanks to the LORD, call upon His name; Make known His deeds among the peoples. Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; Speak of all His wonders. Glory in His holy name; Let the heart of those who seek the LORD be glad. Seek the LORD and His strength; Seek His face continually. Remember His wonderful deeds which He has done, His marvels and the judgments from His mouth…” 1 Chronicles 16:8-12

    Like

  4. SYNCRETISM

    For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools… Romans 1:21-22

    Satan has led many quasi-religious groups to unite around a mixture of religious teachings and then brand honest Christian believers as bigots for clinging to salvation in Christ alone. An outgrowth of the postmodern era in which we live is that many people no longer believe in absolute truth. A natural extension of this lack of absolutes is the widely held view that there is good in every religion and all roads lead to heaven. Individuals can then pick and choose the elements they wish from whatever faith and mix them all together. This is true syncretism. Chuck Colson refers to its impact on our faith as “salad-bar Christianity!”

    Satan is delighted when people believe and expound on his lies. He does not want anyone to know the truth and come to a personal relationship with Jesus who is the truth, the way and the life (John14:6). Jesus is the only way.

    One man reportedly traveled the world to find one name for God that would be universal and bring all people together. Instantly the word love came to his mind. He later wrote, “Give God the universal name of Love and we will create a golden cord to tie together the truths of all the religions of the world.” But love is not God’s name. It is His nature. And God expressed it most fully when He sent His Son to die for our sins (John 3:16). Only when we accept Christ’s sacrifice for us will we know the love of the one true God that can bind people together.

    A few years ago, an inter-faith group of 10,000 people met at the Vatican in Rome. The group included the Pope, the Dalai Lama and Muslim Imam W. D. Mohammed. An outspoken Hindu woman was quoted as saying, “It was refreshing to note that the idea that all religions have universal truths, and are merely different paths to the same goal was accepted as a given from the outset by all delegates without a single dissenting voice.”

    The same delegates also endorsed a general condemnation of “aggressive” proselytizing. This is the prevailing thinking of our day and age. Satan will do all he can to cause this thinking to even invade the church and individual Christian thinking and action.

    The end result of syncretism in free societies will be anti-conversion laws and a prohibition of Christian witnessing. The euphemism for this law will probably be called “religious freedom.”

    RESPONSE: Today I will guard carefully against the deceptions of Satan leading to syncretism.

    PRAYER: Lord, help me to fix my eyes on You and Your Word today so that I will not stumble.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Peggy you recently posted the following on Linda’s blog and I wanted to respond. Her comments are closed. The Lord has been working on me and I felt moved to say what I posted below…after you statement

    Peggy’s statement and question.
    I researched a little as to the early movement of the Salvation Army. They sought to relieve financial burdens and preach the Gospel in the streets. They were persecuted and some were martyred

    Bricks were thrown at them, lime was thrown into the eyes of a child with them. Dead cats were thrown at them.

    “In this world, you will have tribulation.” Where do we get the idea that the goal here is “comfort” and even sometimes subliminally that “the one that dies with the most ‘toys’ wins”???

    My response…
    From the enemy Peggy…where every idea that is not of God comes from. That’s the obvious answer. OH BUT, we must be very careful not to think we’re wise that we ALWAYS know that it’s the enemy.

    The past several posts and comments from Linda’s and James blogs have really pushed me forward in the sense that it’s so easy for all of us to let that subtle voice in, to drop the ball, to not recognize the enemy and his ability to be so very cunning. However, my personal conviction, which IS the Holy Spirit, says to me, “Get the log out of your eye, mind your own business and get on with what I’m talking to YOU about”. So first I must look at myself, see my own sin and repent of that sin, ask forgiveness before I can actually hear MY OWN instructions. I’ve done that. I Praise and Thank Jesus ALWAYS for His bloodshed that I have the opportunity to repent, to ask for forgiveness and to be forgiveness.

    Wondering why others (the body of Christ) are not doing their jobs in growing the Lords Kingdom has been a focus for me and now I see the log! So for me, that means plowing through what is difficult to see and watch and keep my eyes, my ears and my mind open to the Holy Spirit only. Judgment is not my job.

    I now feel able to move forward with what I‘ve been hearing for some time now. That is, what MY responsibility is to move the Lords Kingdom forward, what job He has for me, my purpose? I’m not sure what that looks like exactly mostly because the Lord has been working on me as I stated above. I feel His presence and know as I keep Him front and center the REST will be revealed in HIS time according to HIS will

    When you first realize your mistake you can become regretful, feel shame. We must recognize that’s not of God. It’s very important to remember…One can easily get caught up in beating one’s self up for not listening, when in fact that was the purpose all along, to teach another lesson through mistakes. It’s the best way to learn and the Lords knows that, He’s ALL knowing…AMEN. The Lord knows our hearts. So I adamantly rebuke any such thing or thought that would have me feel bad about myself and see it as a direct hit from the enemy. I rebuke it in Jesus Name who died and shed His blood so I may live as I shout out that any such thing or thought must go into the pit of hell never to return…Amen

    Romans 12:2 – And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

    2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

    Blessings,
    Vicki

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Vicki, that was beautiful! It’s also where I was stuck the past months most the time. Beating myself up. This is the first day I’ve felt normal months. I give HIM all praise, glory and honor because He did for me what I could not do myself. Chains falling off and as much grace as we give to others, which is not ever going to be the measure Jesus gives, we need to give ourselves that grace. Someone told me that not forgiving ourselves is like judging Jesus. We are playing God, by saying who and what He can or cannot forgive…….

      Amazing how I can fall into a place of stuck!! And I can do it all by myself (of course the enemy hammers lol) I took an 8 year old mistake/sin/fall, that I couldn’t forgive myself for, and then wonder why I couldn’t stay above and not beneath! The years of the new Christian roller coaster of ups and downs came back to do a second time around the mountain and valleys of roller coasters. I do think I may have graduated from a 4X4 upside the head to a 2X4……..hopefully.

      God is so good as He is hammering out the mold to keep pouring in more of Jesus, and less of me. Long, long ways to go but to feel His peace and joy for days in a row again and know it’s there is something to shout about. I feel grieved over the things our brethren are going through and the things it seems everyone is falling into the way things are unfolding. I was putting God on my timing and didn’t know it. I can’t fight a battle that’s spiritual from a place of defeat. I was waiting on Him to heal the seasonal depression among other things. He was waiting on me to take other steps.

      I would like to ask for prayer for a woman who’s daughter just died and for her other daughter. We had an awesome visit today. Her other daughter is currently a threat to herself and others. Seeking Him on this.

      Liked by 3 people

  6. Great observations Vicki! Im not one to say the Lord gave me this or that so lightly. IF i want to be sure i crack open the bible and read, Thus sayeth the Lord! In that way i can be 100% sure im talking proper.

    The original Kjv Said in its preface to be read in the churches or congregations. To be READ!

    Thats important because scripture says Faith cometh by hearing the Word. Thats where IT comes from. In everyday life IF one is in a nonbelieving crowd just put in a passage or two from time to time. Faith comes by hearing the Word of God!

    End transmission from Finland

    Liked by 3 people

  7. No Loss
    May 16, 2016 01:28 pm | Glynda Linkous

    I have seen how the enemy has attacked My people, and I am very angry with him for the pain and damage he has inflicted on My precious children.

    My children, be patient, and I will turn these misfortunes to your great good and not only will you not suffer loss, but you shall enjoy increase, by My mighty hand!

    I have a reward for those of you who have endured.

    Deuteronomy 31:7-8
    7 And Moses called unto Joshua, and said unto him in the sight of all Israel, Be strong and of a good courage: for thou must go with this people unto the land which the Lord hath sworn unto their fathers to give them; and thou shalt cause them to inherit it.
    8 And the Lord, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. In agreement with all the comments here. We have to keep moving forward and this will require “Kicking Some Demon Butt”!… So many people are being attacked in all areas, and some attacks are coming from family and friends that don’t know the Lord. We must take a stand for the truth, even if it means that others walk away from us. Planting a seed is not always an easy thing to do, but sometimes it’s all we can do.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. James amen… may we be soaked and waterlogged with His word . May evil think we are tired and discouraged only to be lulled into a false sense of victory. We rise from everywhere, circle their camp and bind the battalion with sword, chains and our saviors blood. Let those that tormented His people in this recent time be thrown into the abyss, while our King allows the evil ones to watch the final chapter unfold as the losing team. Oh man would I love too see the Lord’s army right now in the heavenly realm stretched across the universe, just awaiting His command.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That would be an awesome sight Michael — speaking about the Lord’s army waiting his command. What a Glorious day it will be when all of those foul-smelling losers and their sulfuric commander in chief, will be bound in the Lake of Fire fall all eternity!

      Liked by 2 people

  10. MATERIALISM

    For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. 1Timothy 6:10

    Satan subtly promotes the attitude that says money, property, possessions, physical comforts, as well as worldly fame and honor are the most important things in life. While God created all things and is the source of all we have, He does not condone our allowing things and money to usurp His first place in our lives. The prosperity that He so freely gives us, and wants us to have, is indeed a blessing until it takes the place of God.

    Materialism is thus the attitude that says money, property, possessions, physical comforts, as well as worldly fame and honor, are the most important things in life. Not to say, “There is no God,” but to say, “I don’t have any need for God!”

    For Christians, materialism is much like the frog in a pan of water that is slowly being heated. He boils to death because he does not realize the danger quickly enough to jump out of the pot before it is too late.

    A church leader from the country of Romania, which was once a communist-dominated land and is now free, commented, “In my experience, 95% of the believers who face the test of external persecution pass it, while 95% of those who face the test of prosperity fail it!”

    Satan is ecstatic when he succeeds in luring us into this trap. This is the dark side to money and possessions that many Christians are either unaware of, or unwilling to face. As a result, the spiritual vitality of many has been sapped and the church as a whole has been weakened spiritually. Like fire, money is a good servant but a destructive master.

    If the church is to survive this challenge, there is an urgent need to be aware of the true nature of materialism. Unfortunately, it has become such a vital part of our culture that Christians are often unaware of its control.

    By the standard of the people around Jesus, many of today’s so called poor are very rich as well as almost all those in free societies. In Jesus’ day, a rich person was one who had more food than needed for the day and who had more than one set of clothing.

    RESPONSE: Today I will not be a frog in the boiling water. I will be alert to Satan’s attack on the materialism front.

    PRAYER: Thank You Lord for all the material blessings I have received from You. Help me to use them for Your glory and Your kingdom.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Here’s some new terms that are now being used by Lizard Lips:

    Criminal — now is called “Justice Involved Individual”
    Solitary Confinement — now is called “Restrictive Housing”

    Like

    1. It’s “Vocabulary and Thought Control” as my husband would call it.
      If you get a group of people to accept a new definition, you can CONTROL THEIR THINKING.

      Notice, that they use POSITIVE words for evil— OR EVIL words for that which is good. (Classic “calling evil good and good evil.” And regarding those things, the Holy Book also says “WOE UNTO THEM”!)

      Like

  12. I saw a post regarding a movement by the groups wanting to do away with 2nd amendment. They are painting doors red and putting red lights on the porches to show their stance and that they do not have guns…………prime time robbing areas. But it is a dangerous movement.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the things floating around on the web is the color stickers on mailboxes. A red sticker supposedly indicates you will be executed by the Federal Government, Blue = Bound for Fema Camp & Yellow = No Threat

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I think IT was Steve Quayle WHO Broken that story When he had reports about Apache helicopters training in California with churches as targets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Has anyone notice when we go to SQ or other sites linked in, (and it’s not usually their own ads, “they” slam them on there) there are questions that are very invasive as to 2nd amendment, sign this, sign that. Amazing how you can feel the intrusion. Some of the hosts don’t get that we are under judgement and petitions etc will not change a thing except to put people in more danger.

      Like

  14. Be Courageous
    May 17, 2016 12:32 pm | Glynda Linkous

    My children, though I warn you of many upcoming events, they are not all immediate in your time. I simply do not want you to be caught unprepared spiritually for the gross darkness that is approaching in your world.

    When the darkness falls, it shall be very dark indeed, and many shall turn against you because of your great love for My Name. They will seek to kill you or have you delivered to be killed, for they serve another god who is not Me, to whom they are most loyal.

    Do not be afraid when the time comes, for is anything impossible for Me? I am able to take pain away from death, and then shall you be here with Me forever.

    Be strong and bold for My Name. Yea, be very courageous.

    Matthew 24:6-10
    6 And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.
    7 For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.
    8 All these are the beginning of sorrows.
    9 Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.
    10 And then shall many be offended, and shall betray one another, and shall hate one another.

    Matthew 10:22 And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake: but he that endureth to the end shall be saved.

    John 16:2 They shall put you out of the synagogues: yea, the time cometh, that whosoever killeth you will think that he doeth God service.

    John 15:18 If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.

    Isaiah 60:2 For, behold, the darkness shall cover the earth, and gross darkness the people: but the Lord shall arise upon thee, and his glory shall be seen upon thee.

    Joshua 1:9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

    Luke 1:37 For with God nothing shall be impossible.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Yes Lord ….. you shall take away the sting of death for those that stand for you and give their lives….. what an awesome feeling to have not even thought of that fear the minute you awaken in front of Him. We pray supernatural peace and He has promised that. Let it be so if He wants that for any of us. Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I saw this video information last night. They say that the term black rain originally came from Nuclear fallout — rain darkened by particles of radioactive dust. It’s very sad to see so many people thinking this is “normal” because of Hollywood and musicians. Very dark associations from people such as “Lady Gaga”! We need to keep them all in prayer, as they will be heading directly into the Lake of Fire unless they repent.

      Like

  16. Yes i watched that one also a very insightful video. One of the best straws to catch on to was that thing about black rain and nuclear bomb like Hiroshima. Now nuclear bombs are used only as ignition devices for hydrogen bombs but a hydrogen bomb is definitely a device of multidimensional capability opening a zero point at detonation drawing Energy from a higher dimension. This is evidenced by estimated blast effect megatons and much higher or lower results than estimated.

    This is thought to be Based upon celestial and spatial reasons ie stellar activity theorized by Nikolai Kozyrev of theformer Ussr.
    So definitely an what we would say supernatural theme or link there, there is nothing supernatural per se only things our limited minds perceive assupernatural.

    Here is this for now exclusive on JC southwest.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. SERVING TWO MASTERS
    “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.” Matthew 6:24

    Riches are dangerous because their seductive power often causes people to reject Christ and His kingdom. The rich young ruler who turned sadly away after being told that he had to part with his riches to inherit salvation prompted Jesus’ statement, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God.” (Luke 18:24; Mark 10:23; Matthew 19:23)

    A desire for riches can cause people to do almost anything—even to the extent of selling their souls. The result, Scripture warns, is anguish now and damnation later (1Timothy 6:9-10). An abundance of possessions can easily lead us to forget that God is the Source of all good. The people of Israel were warned of this before they entered the Promised Land (Deuteronomy 8:11-17).

    The pursuit of wealth often results in wars. James 4:1-2 says this clearly and it is amply confirmed from world history. Instead of fostering more compassion toward the poor, riches often harden the hearts of the wealthy. Rich persons are often unconcerned about the poor at their doorstep. (Luke 16:19-31; Isaiah 5:8-10; Amos 6:4-7; James 5:1-5)

    Money is not neutral; it is a power with a life of its own. It is a power that is even demonic in character. When Jesus uses the Aramaic term mammon, translated as money in the NIV, (Matthew 6:24) to refer to wealth, He is giving it a personal and spiritual character as a rival god. Mammon is a power that seeks to dominate us.

    Hence, money is an active agent. It is a law unto itself—capable of inspiring devotion. It is tremendously instructive to stand back and observe the frantic scramble of people for money. And this does not occur just among the poor and starving. Even the super rich still seek it furiously. The middle class continue to buy more houses, acquire more cars and purchase more clothes than they need. If money were only a medium of exchange, it would make no sense at all to attach such prestige to it. We value people in relation to their income. We give people status and honor in relation to how much money they have or appear to have.

    We can have all the Christian externals and yet be complete materialists in our hearts.

    RESPONSE: I choose to serve God, so I will not give money any place of prominence in my life or in my heart.

    PRAYER: Lord, I need Your help today to stay focused on You and not on all the “things” around me.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. In some histories Mammon was referred to as a daemon, not merely money or cash. IF you think about it money is an innanimate object which could get the label of biblical idol. Figurers made of Wood etc, paper money is from wood and The bible says those WHO worship idols worship devils.

    Money is as JC Said an neutral object but within IT is by the power IT confers the opportunity or probability of idol worship.

    Great subjects JC, your like a surgeon cutting into the matter!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Distracted Destinies
    May 18, 2016 10:09 am | Glynda Linkous

    My children, the nearer your destiny you come, the harder the enemy will work to distract you. Even now you see how he pulls you quietly away from anything that is of Me. The length and intensity of these distractions will increase continually to prevent you from doing My work.

    If you want to walk in your destiny and do as I have called you to do, you must refuse his distractions. I must be your priority at all times.

    Be diligent. Be vigilant.

    1 Peter 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

    1 Corinthians 10:13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

    Luke 10:38-42
    38 Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.
    39 And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.
    40 But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.
    41 And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:
    42 But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. A Watchman on the Wall
    Posted: 19 May 2016 12:00 AM PDT

    “Rejoice that your name is written in The Lamb’ Book of Life. Rejoice that you have been counted worthy to serve, to sacrifice and to suffer for My Namesake. Do not expect only sunshine, do not praise Me for the sun and grumble when the wind and rain come.

    I AM controls it all. You must be ready in season and out with praise for all that I send. Heartache or hope, sickness or health….Rejoice! This is a strong witness to the world that you indeed know and love Me.”

    “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!” Philippians 4:4
    “But let all who take refuge in You be glad, Let them ever sing for joy; And may You shelter them, That those who love Your name may exult in You.” Psalm 5:11

    “Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good, For His lovingkindness is everlasting. Give thanks to the God of gods, For His lovingkindness is everlasting. Give thanks to the Lord of lords, For His lovingkindness is everlasting.” Psalm 136:1-3
    “…in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

    Like

  21. This is yet another GREAT post, J.C.
    You present good information and related pictures and Scripture (oh, AND MUSIC!).
    You are not afraid to present harsh truth.

    Also, the discussions here generate much productive thought into these matters.

    Keep up the wonderful job, Chaplain J.C.!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

