gods_hand_of_protection_lifted

1 Thessalonians 5:1-11 “The Day Of The Lord”

About the times and the seasons: Brothers, you do not need anything to be written to you.

Day_Of_The_Lord

2 For you yourselves know very well that the Day of the Lord will come just like a thief in the night.

3 When they say, “Peace and security,” then sudden destruction comes on them, like labor pains come on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape.

4 But you, brothers, are not in the dark, for this day to overtake you like a thief.

Out_Of_Darkness

5 For you are all sons of light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or the darkness.

Isaiah_3snoring_in_church1

6 So then, we must not sleep, like the rest, but we must stay awake and be serious.

7 For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk are drunk at night.

Amored_Up_Ready_For_Battle

8 But since we belong to the day, we must be serious and put the armor of faith and love on our chests, and put on a helmet of the hope of salvation.

9 For God did not appoint us to wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ,

10 who died for us, so that whether we are awake or asleep, we will live together with Him.

1Thessalonians5_1

11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up as you are already doing.

1 Thessalonians 5:12-28 “Exhortations & Blessings”

12 Now we ask you, brothers, to give recognition to those who labor among you and lead you in the Lord and admonish you,

13 and to regard them very highly in love because of their work. Be at peace among yourselves.

Imitate_Jesus

14 And we exhort you, brothers: warn those who are irresponsible, comfort the discouraged, help the weak, be patient with everyone.

15 See to it that no one repays evil for evil to anyone, but always pursue what is good for one another and for all.

rejoice_pray_thanks

16 Rejoice always!

17 Pray constantly. 

18 Give thanks in everything, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 

Acts2_17

19 Don’t stifle the Spirit. 

20 Don’t despise prophecies, 

21 but test all things. Hold on to what is good. 

Love_Lord_Hate_Evil

22 Stay away from every kind of evil. 

1Thessalonians5_24

23 Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you completely. And may your spirit, soul, and body be kept sound and blameless for the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

24 He who calls you is faithful, who also will do it.

25 Brothers, pray for us also.

26 Greet all the brothers with a holy kiss.

27 I charge you by the Lord that this letter be read to all the brothers.

28 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.


 

26 thoughts on “Peace & Safety

  1. THE EXAMPLE OF MOTHERS
    Just as a nursing mother cares for her children, so we cared for you. Because we loved you so much, we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well. 1 Thessalonians 2:7b-8

    Dear Corrie ten Boom, a close friend of Brother Andrew’s in Holland, was well-known for her statement: “When God has a task to be done, he calls a man. When He has a DIFFICULT task to be done, he calls a woman!”

    Motherhood is often one of those difficult tasks for women. I can remember how difficult it was for my own mother in the 1950’s to raise a family with four active, hungry boys on a total budget of twenty-five dollars a week. Yet she was such an example to us of sacrifice, commitment, and faithfulness. We knew she would give everything she had for us and our father.

    The Apostle Paul reminded the Thessalonian church that the apostles could have become a burden to them but instead they treated the new growing church gently, like a mother caring for her little children, willing to give everything—even their lives.

    Today mothers in the persecuted church continue to reflect the example of Jesus in sacrifice, commitment and faithfulness. I think of the wife of Santiago, a dynamic church pastor in one of Colombia’s deeply troubled areas. Santiago’s life is threatened because has an intense love for God’s people, and a deeply ingrained sense of justice. His strength comes from the Lord. But his second source of strength is his wife, Deborah, who stands by him no matter what.

    Recently, she opened up her heart to a small group of visitors. “I feel a profound emptiness and fear that can only be mitigated by the Lord. Although many people claim that the war here has dwindled, I cannot agree because I still see what the people here go through. Just yesterday four people were murdered in our town, two of them very close to our church.”

    At that point, the tears flooding Deborah’s eyes reveal one of the deepest fears of her heart. “I beg my Lord not to take Santiago away from us, as it would be an extremely painful blow. I remember having the doors locked, believing that at any moment they would come looking for Santiago to kill him. Every time he left for church, my children also waited for someone to arrive bearing the horrible news that he had been murdered. The children beg him, ‘Daddy, please quit the church. We know that people in the area are speaking badly of you, and you know that several other pastors have been murdered.’”

    Deborah continues, “God changed our plans to leave. It is not His will that we run away, and our brothers and sisters would not allow us to do so either.” Then she pleads, “I request your prayers for the Lord to heal the wounds of my heart, to remove the fear, so that I can continue fighting. But, more importantly, that I will know how to pray according to His will.” Deborah’s deep devotion to her husband and children is obvious. She is also their tower of strength.

    RESPONSE: Today I will honour mother and encourage other mothers I see struggling with life’s issues.

    PRAYER: Father, bless Deborah today—and others like her—with courage, strength and faithfulness.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Thank you James! Another great message, it really speaks to me. The Lord continues. to provide scriptures through my searching the Lord’s word, praying and yours, Linda’s and others posts. He’s walking me through all that is going on in my family with the attacks. I would love to share the details, it’s awful but He says to be still and trust in Him. Please, I ask, continue to pray. One day, I know there will be an awesome testimony coming from this.

    Our Lord is forever faithfull.
    Vicki

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes, will be praying Vicki. . . And That the POWER of the Holy Spirit will rise up upon you. That He will give you strategic prayers for each situations that arises. That the Holy Spirit WILL convict ALL who are doing wrong/in sin and will REPENT. We pray for protection, deliverance and the Angels of Salvation to be sent forth to war on behalf of your family. We ask for the Father’s will to be done, in the name of Yahshua . . . . Jesus Christ our Messiah. Amen.

      Here’s a reminder song for you:

      Liked by 4 people

  3. Cast Off
    May 13, 2016 10:20 am | Glynda Linkous

    Cast off your chains and be free, My people. Do not be enslaved again when I have set you free. Why do you return again and again to the bondage of your sin when I have freed you?

    Cast off your chains, turn from your sin and walk away and I will free you.

    Proverbs 26:10-11
    10 The great God that formed all things both rewardeth the fool, and rewardeth transgressors.
    11 As a dog returneth to his vomit, so a fool returneth to his folly.

    Isaiah 10:27 And it shall come to pass in that day, that his burden shall be taken away from off thy shoulder, and his yoke from off thy neck, and the yoke shall be destroyed because of the anointing.

    Ezekiel 18:21-23
    21 But if the wicked will turn from all his sins that he hath committed, and keep all my statutes, and do that which is lawful and right, he shall surely live, he shall not die.
    22 All his transgressions that he hath committed, they shall not be mentioned unto him: in his righteousness that he hath done he shall live.
    23 Have I any pleasure at all that the wicked should die? saith the Lord God: and not that he should return from his ways, and live?

    Proverbs 28:13 He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Vicki, I felt the spirit on me 3 times today to tell you this when you were lifted up in prayer. ” my daughter, keep your heart open through all this so my peace will keep flowing in, hold tight in your prayers, you will see my love come through”. I pray that brings you comfort. Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Thank you Michael, yes it does bring me comfort, great comfort…Thank you all! May God bless you abundantly, each and every one of you. Our daughter is feeling peace for the first time in a week. I’m going to share this link with her…her name is Jenny in case she decides to stop by.

    Blessings and love to all,
    Vicki

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WOMEN WHO FEAR GOD
    Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. Proverbs 31:30-31

    Evangelism is an important function of the church everywhere. But in communist Vietnam, followers of Christ cannot openly share their faith. Those who do are often threatened or imprisoned. In response, Open Doors developed several programs to help. One was a women’s discipleship program based on one-on-one relationships. It is called Priscilla Training.

    A Vietnamese woman named Han says, “When I was young I went to church. We were a godly family. But I found the church very dull, very boring. The Bible did not speak to me. I knew some of the stories. And I listened to our pastor each week.

    “One night when we were all asleep the police came and took our pastor away. They think if they take him away the church will die. They want all churches to die. They kept him in prison for five years. It’s natural this happens. I live in a communist country.

    “When the communists tried to kill my church, it challenged my heart. I knew I had to be strong. Before, I was just a church member. Now I have to become a serious follower of Jesus.

    “I started reading my Bible every day, and it became fresh to me. It spoke to my heart. It was very, very good feeling, and I liked it. It was good for my life. I wanted others to have God in their lives too.

    “Attending a secret house church is a risk. But it is a greater risk going to a training class. And I decided to take that risk. I went far away to receive Priscilla Bible and leadership training. I felt God calling me to be in ministry. I want to teach other women what I have learned. My first disciple was named Tuyen.”

    Tuyen says, “My friend introduced me to a godly lady. Her name is Han. She taught me how to study better, know God better, and be a true disciple of Jesus. I reach out to people and tell them all the good news I have in my heart, and the good hope I have in me today.

    “A neighbor told me that a lady, a new follower of Jesus, wants to learn more about him. She will be my first disciple. I will teach her what I’ve learned from Han.”

    God has equipped thousands of women through the Priscilla Training in Vietnam and all members of the church are thus able to help fulfill the function of evangelism.

    In June 2011, Vietnam’s Evangelical Church celebrated its centenary. The government allowed the missionaries to Vietnam (who were still living and able to travel) to return for the celebrations. When they left in 1975, there were estimated to be 160,000 evangelical Christians in the country. In 2011 they found the church had grown to over 1.4 million. That’s nearly 900 per cent growth! During the centenary celebrations, Open Doors was officially given an award from the leaders of the Evangelical Church for help in training given through the difficult years.

    RESPONSE: Today I will honor women who fear God and share their faith with others in need of help.

    PRAYER: Pray for more women in Vietnam to be able to effectively share their faith and train others.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. SINGING PRAISES
    After consulting the people, Jehoshaphat appointed men to sing to the LORD and to praise him for the splendor of his holiness as they went out at the head of the army, saying: “Give thanks to the LORD, for his love endures forever.” As they began to sing and praise, the LORD set ambushes against the men of Ammon and Moab and Mount Seir who were invading Judah, and they were defeated. 2 Chronicles 20:21-22

    The overflow of singing praises amid great difficulties has tremendous spiritual power for helping to win the spiritual battle. Paul and Silas set the biblical pattern in the prison in Philippi. Pastor Jack Hayford enjoys sharing the story as told by his favorite black preacher. Paul and Silas’ prison cell singing was heard all the way to the throne room of God. He began to tap his toe to the music. Since heaven is His throne and the earth is His footstool; that created an earthquake!!!

    Ivan Antonov spent twenty-four years in Russian prison camps for preaching the gospel. He later shared how he survived:

    I would sing hymns. I was really glad that I knew so many. I had memorized about one hundred seventy hymns, and in order not to forget them, I reviewed several every day. So over a time, I sang through all of them. I want to emphasize to my young friends that you should worship God with songs and poems and memorize them. They will come in handy…I sang hymns every morning and at night before going to bed…In those quiet [morning] hours, I would go outside in the fresh air and sing hymns of praise to God and pray. Then I went in for breakfast with everyone else.[1]

    China’s notable pastor Wang Ming-dao shared upon his release from prison that he frequently sang praises to God to buoy his spirits. The songs that meant the most to him were “All The Way My Saviour Leads Me” and “Safe In The Arms Of Jesus.”

    His contemporary, Allen Yuan shared with me two songs which he repeatedly sang aloud throughout his nearly twenty-two years in prison. One was “The Old Rugged Cross” and the other “Psalm Twenty-Seven” from the Chinese Psalter. It was always an emotional highlight to hear him sing these songs.

    RESPONSE: Today I will sing praises to the Lord my God.

    PRAYER: Lord, help me to rejoice and sing praises to You, especially when I feel the challenges of spiritual warfare.

    1. Ivan Antonov, “Survival 101: How to prepare for imprisonment,” Prisoner Bulletin (1989), p.13.

    Standing Strong Through The Storm (SSTS), a daily devotional message by SSTS author Paul Estabrooks. © 2011 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Great songs Vicki but to be honest im not much of a song person myself. I find introspectivism thinking about things from a biblical perspective and seeing things how they work to be more important for myself.

    But then again a well played piece of music an important part of all creation because even the whole creation has a background hymn or song whatever you call it, music of the spheres etc.

    So music is Very important i just dont practice or listen to it much myself except at workhorse the radio. But great music older music has a higher frequency and IT is more mood uplifting than modern music.

    Dr Leonard Horowitz wrote a great piece on music way back IF i could find IT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Next to reading my Bible and being in prayer, singing hymns from “back in the day” is my most favorite thing to do. Worship music is on in our home all day most every day. I feel the Holy Spirit speaks to me through song.

      I especially remember going to church as a little girl and all the way through to a young adult and hearing the church come alive with the Lord’s music. It’s was with the piano and organ back then and we would sing our hearts out. God’s house was on fire! Revival was in the church back then. Today it seems ( in the church) to be an effort to sing praises out to the Lord. I feel the congregation holding themselves back, not expressing their love through the music. The words are praising our Lord and Savior, I can’t hold myself back. I DO NOT have a singing voice, that is, to the ears of the flesh. But I know…without any doubt the Lord loves my voice, He loves hearing me sing.

      For myself, I can’t and won’t ever stop singing to our Lord.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. HE inhabits the praises of His people. Pastor Debbie says that the Lord speaks to her more often during the 40 minute worship time than at any other time. Music is also powerful spiritual warfare. Satan used to be the WORSHIP LEADER in HEAVEN. He hates us and HATES our worship and praises. It CONFUSES the Kingdom of Darkness. Note in James’ posting above how the musicians were put IN FRONT of the ARMY!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

