Discernment – Perception Of The Truth

1 Corinthians 14:33 Amplified Bible

33 For He [Who is the source of their prophesying] is not a God of confusion and disorder but of peace and order.


My personal definition of discernment is that of a Gift from the Lord when we take something to him asking for the truth to be made known.   The Holy Spirit can guide each and everyone of God’s children so they have discernment in all things.   We all need discernment when it comes to that of Spiritual World; otherwise we can easily become fooled by evil trying to  disguise itself as good. 

uh_oh1

I don’t know if you could call this discernment as defined by the masses, but I sometimes get a feeling in my gut of “something just isn’t right”.  That feeling can be when someone is using “Thus Sayeth The Lord” — when the Lord might not have been involved.  It can also be felt when some preacher/teacher/pastor/prophet/prophetess is pushing man’s doctrine instead of preaching the true word of the Lord.  Sometimes I can sense that there are lies present, just for the purpose of someone requiring an audience.  I sometimes sense something isn’t right when someone says “The Lord Gave me a word” — but sometimes the Lord was never involved.

discernment2

In summary, I think too many people are using “The Lord Gave Me A Word” and “Thus Sayeth The Lord” like the masses use when someone sneezes and says, “Bless You”.  I do know the Lord does speak to us, but we need discernment in all things. 

beware_of_false_prophets!

I can’t quote scripture, but I do know when someone is “twisting it” to benefit their own false belief systems.  I don’t think it’s important to quote scripture, as much as it is to have the word imprinted on us.  The Holy Spirit will guide us in the word.  I also can’t quote much of anything else from the World either, but I can give summaries very easy.

snoring_in_church3snoring_in_church2snoring_in_church1

There are a lot of people that can quote scripture cover-to-cover, but the word itself to them is empty.  The word is not alive to them, it’s just a memory not used in real practice. We need to ask the Holy Spirit to guide us through the Living Word of the Lord.

Consider checking out this link on Spiritual Gift Of Discernment:  http://www.enlivenpublishing.com/blog/2010/08/08/8-signs-you-may-have-the-spiritual-gift-of-discernment/

 

10 thoughts on “Discernment – Perception Of The Truth

  1. TRUTH shared here, James. So TRUE. . . So many “thus saith the LORD” (and usually with the Elizabethian language). I get almost a gag reaction when it’s the “woo-hoo, breakthrough, happy, happy” puke messages of false comfort. THEY WILL BE JUDGED.

    It’s a VERY serious thing to say “the LORD Showed me” or “the Holy Spirit wants me to tell you”. For if it’s not from the LORD, that is taking the name of the LORD in vain and JUDGEMENT will be the result. . . That is coming and it’s going to be violent . . . Ugly . . . Unexpectantly and SUDDENLY.

    I pray they will repent now, before it’s too late.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this post jc. I find myself asking the Lord more things out loud especially in these critical times. I pray for discernment because so many of my thoughts can come into play and not the Lords. Now it’s more prayer and patience. The answer from Him will come in His time

    Liked by 1 person

  3. God taught me about discernment years ago. We were going to a church and I kept feeling something was really wrong on the worship team I was playing on. I would go home being physically ill every week. I knew I had to quit playing and went to the worship leaders and told them so. Well, they said they didn’t think anything was wrong and it was me with the problem. I was not going to be released from the worship team. I continued to pray through this and God said step down, so I did. We ended up becoming lepers in that church and eventually ended up leaving.

    Not too long after that, the Lord revealed that over half of the worship team had grievous sin in their lives. God told me, “See you were not the one having the problem, so trust what you are sensing”.

    Don’t let the enemy put you off when you know something isn’t right. Keep praying through.

    Like

  4. Really interesting post James, it makes me think of a story I heard where slaves were actually committing suicide, to escape the lives they had because they heard their was a place in paradise/heaven for them. They was killing themselves in vast numbers and this was creating a big problem for the slave owners and merchants, eventually they found a solution to this problem by getting the church to say it is a sin to commit suicide.
    This was a total fabrication by the church as apparently there is not one mention throughout the whole Bible to support this stance, what you said is correct, that they put their own interpretation into the Bible to meet their own benefits, when you are preached to in church’s, this is just one example.

    Like

    1. That is an interesting story you stated about slaves and suicide. Do you have a reference to that we can all share? It might be in the form of a book, video, website or other form of literature.

      I can’t quote scripture but I would think Suicide would be considered self-murder and murder is a sin. No less of a sin than abortion, which is the murder of unborn children. No less of a sin than killing another human being. Here’s that in the list of the 10 commandments (from my prior blog posting):

      Thou shalt have no other gods before me.
      Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.
      Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.
      Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. (Sabbath is not on Sunday)
      Honor thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.
      Thou shalt not kill.
      Thou shalt not commit adultery.
      Thou shalt not steal.
      Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
      Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbor’s.

      Sabbath

      Jewish Tradition states that Sabbath starts at Sunset on Friday evening and ends at Sunset on Saturday evening. Sunday was never designated as Sabbath in the bible, The Catholic church changed the definition of Sabbath. Side note — when I was in Tel Aviv, Israel back in 2000 for a computer training assignment, I noticed that they worked from Sunday thru Thursday — not like most who work from Monday thru Friday. Sunday is the start of the work week according to Jewish Tradition.

      Like

      1. Yeah, I actually knew that the Sabbath was not the holy designated day, the link was via a gentleman in a YouTube documentary I watched some time back where he claimed this.
        I have thousands of back uploads I have watched, and it was something I was referring to as part of a documentary I watched, that I recalled what was said, unfortunately I think I would find it extremely difficult to find this small section of a video through a mountain of others, as I cannot unfortunately find it or recall who even said it.
        I understand that you would like some sort of link to backup what I discussed, as I would also want this, I will have a try but I think my chances are slim.
        My apologies for this.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. No apology needed. Your story just sounded interesting and could be a good learning tool. Thanks for sharing. I understand about trying to sift emails, documents and videos — I have a ton of them myself 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

