Sense Of Smell In The Spirit

spiritual_smells_meanings

2Corinthians214

2 Corinthians 2 

12 When I came to Troas to preach Christ’s gospel, the Lord gave me an opportunity to preach. 13 But I was worried because I couldn’t find my brother Titus there. So I said good-bye to them and went on to Macedonia.

14 But thank God, who is always leading us around through Christ as if we were in a parade. He releases the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere through us. 15 We smell like the aroma of Christ’s offering to God, both to those who are being saved and to those who are on the road to destruction. 16 We smell like a contagious dead person to those who are dying, but we smell like the fountain of life to those who are being saved.

Reason For This Blog Post

burning_tires

Yesterday, (1-1-2016) I went to let my Dog Cody outside.  It was around 6-7pm CST.  As soon as I opened the door, I smelled a foul stench of what I can only describe as burning tires.  That would not be uncommon, as local residents are allowed to burn trash as long as it’s not toxic (like tires).  I looked around and did not notice the usual trash burners having a fire somewhere.  

prayer_of_faith

The disgusting smell went away after a few seconds, and I was prompted to do a prayer walk around my property.  I rededicated the land, house and vehicle to the Lord and asked the Lord to send his protecting angels here.  I later prayed in the house asking the Lord to remove any unclean spirits from within and anointed the door and handles with oil.  I asked the Lord to touch anyone who entered the door and give them visions of his might and grace.

I came across this interesting link about the spiritual sense of smell:  http://www.lifechurchmv.com/pastorkevin/archives/166

I know nothing about the church or pastor listed on that link.  I was not focused on those 2 things, just the information that was presented. This is an example of how we can glean a message from various sources.

the_lords_prayer

May each of us stay focused on the Lord each day, pray for more to come to salvation, read the word and always pray daily for forgiveness of sin.  We are all sinners as long as we are in this flesh.  

11 thoughts on “Sense Of Smell In The Spirit

  1. I’ve been smelling spirits for a few months now. Not constantly. Some faint and some strong. Some for just a moment, others a few seconds, and once (thank God it was an angel and not a satan!) about 10 minutes.

    The first time, I was asleep in bed. There was a stench so bad it woke me up, but not enough to make me open eyes or get up. I thought it was the garbage under the kitchen sink, which had some chicken and other food waste. It wasn’t until I fully awoke in the morning that I was smart enough to realize it would be close to impossible for a kitchen-cabinet odor to make it to my bedside. And as I analyzed the memory of the smell, I recognized rotting flesh, other decay, sewage, and a touch of sulphur. It was HORRIBLE!

    I’m prayer-walking my house again Today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yeah: once, I entered a friend’s salon and asked what was that Amazing scent? She didn’t know and couldn’t smell it, so I backtracked and checked; it was only in her salon. I analyzed and realized it was a combination of a LOT of sawdust, mixed with something wonderfully sweet, like flowers, but none that I could identify.

      Then I knew the prophecy: God wanted me to tell her that He was building something massive for her in Heaven. The moment I gave her that word, the scent left. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just learned (somewhere in a recent post on z3news.com yesterday) that saints all over have been smelling smoke when there isn’t any. And that what we’re smelling is God’s gracious confirmation of the burning that is to come. I’m thinking that when I smell it and my husband – who has a MUCH better sense of smell than I do, since he was trained as a chemist – cannot – well, I’m thinking that might not be a good thing. Please pray for him.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sure thing increaseglory. Will keep him and all none-believers in prayer. That goes for both of my parents and my 2 younger brothers as well. My mother is scared to death to go get a simple routine cataract surgery, as I know she has know idea where she’ll spend eternity. Both her and my father are under the false belief that Jesus was only a prophet and they will not talk to me or anyone else about Christianity. They claim they believe in God, but you can’t go to the father without his son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

