Are We Perceived By Christians and Non-Christians As Superior?

superiority ego_superiority

Speaking from past experience, when I was running away from the Lord:

Most Christians try to do things their way, instead of waiting on the Holy Spirit.  When you do things your way when trying to enlighten a non-believer, you can push them further away.  The Superiority complex can also cause True Christians to distance themselves from you.  Questions to ask yourself?

  • Am I judging someone when I speak to them?
  • Do I try and tell people that their way of studying the Bible is incorrect or not being led by the Holy Spirit?
  • Am I able to look someone in the eyes when I speak?
  • Do I come across as “Superior” when I speak to someone about the Lord?
  • Do I mention the sin they are in, but fail to recognize my own?
  • Am I standing outside a “Sinner” establishment telling people they are going to hell, instead of trying to talk with someone while being led by the Holy Spirit?  Holding a banner can be awesome, but it best be done with the Holy Spirit.
  • Do I totally dismiss what others are telling me?

If you are led by the Holy Spirit, you won’t have any problems when trying to help bring someone to salvation. Many Christians with a good heart, go at it without guidance, and it can leave a bitter taste in the mouth of those that need salvation.  Some people that really need salvation, can be led further into the depths of Hell because of a misguided Christian.

You may be led by the Holy Spirit to do or say something and that does not require the approval of another Christian.  Prayers are needed for confirmation from the Lord and not from people.

Many people may not believe anything you tell them, if you are unable to look at them in the eyes when speaking.  Turning away from people we are speaking to is often a sign of deception or other hidden issues.


◄ 1 Corinthians 4 ► (ISV)

Faithful Servants of the Messiah

1 Think of us as servants of the Messiah and as servant managers entrusted with God’s secrets. 2 Now it is required of servant managers that each one should prove to be trustworthy. 3 It is a very small thing to me that I should be examined by you or by any human court. In fact, I don’t even evaluate myself. 4 For my conscience is clear, but that does not vindicate me. It is the Lord who examines me. 5 Therefore, stop judging prematurely, before the Lord comes, for he will bring to light what is now hidden in darkness and reveal the motives of our hearts. Then each person will receive his praise from God.

Fools for the Messiah’s Sake

6 Brothers, I have applied all this to Apollos and myself for your benefit, so that you may learn from us not to go beyond what the Scriptures say, Then you will stop boasting about one person at the expense of another.

For who makes you superior? What do you have that you did not receive? And if you did receive it, why do you boast as though you did not receive it? 8 You already have all you want! You have already become rich! You have become kings without us! I wish you really were kings so that we could be kings with you! 9 For it seems to me that God has put us apostles on display in last place, like men condemned to death. We have become a spectacle for the world, for angels, and for people to stare at. 10 We are fools for the Messiah’s sake, but you are wise in the Messiah.  We are weak, but you are strong. You are honored, but we are dishonored. 11 We are hungry, thirsty, dressed in rags, brutally treated, and homeless, right up to the present. 12 We wear ourselves out from working with our own hands. When insulted, we bless. When persecuted, we endure. 13 When slandered, we answer with kind words. Even now we have become the filth of the world, the scum of the universe.

Fatherly Advice

14 I’m not writing this to make you feel ashamed, but to warn you as my dear children. 15 You may have 10,000 mentors who work for the Messiah, but not many fathers. For in the Messiah Jesus I became your father through the gospel.     16 So I urge you to imitate me. 17 That’s why I sent Timothy to you. He is my dear and dependable son in the Lord and will help you remember how I live for the Messiah Jesus as I teach everywhere in every church.

18 Some of you have become arrogant, as though I were not coming to evaluate you. 19 But I will come to you soon if it’s the Lord’s will. Then I’ll discover not only what these arrogant people are saying but also what power they have, 20 for the kingdom of God isn’t just talk, but also power. 21 Which do you prefer? Should I come to you with a stick, or with love and a gentle spirit?

5 thoughts on “Are We Perceived By Christians and Non-Christians As Superior?

  1. The Heavenly Father LOVES ALL . . this is why He sent Jesus to die for ALL of our sins, regardless of that sin. This is what the Bible says the LORD hates:

    Proverbs 6:16-19 –
    There are six things which the Lord hates, Yes, seven which are an abomination to Him:  Haughty eyes, a lying tongue, And hands that shed innocent blood, A heart that devises wicked plans, Feet that run rapidly to evil, A false witness who utters lies, And one who  spreads strife among brothers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen.

      John 3:16Amplified Bible (AMP)
      16 “For God so [greatly] loved and dearly prized the world, that He [even] gave His [One and] [a]only begotten Son, so that whoever believes and trusts in Him [as Savior] shall not perish, but have eternal life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

